IPL 2021 Final, CSK vs KKR: CSK adds fourth IPL Title in their kitty by defeating KKR by 27 runs

IPL 2021 Final, CSK vs KKR: CSK adds fourth IPL Title in their kitty by defeating KKR by 27 runs

IPL 2021 Final, CSK vs KKR: MS Dhoni & Co once again proved that why they are considered as ‘Kings’ of IPL by winning the 14th season of the IPL in Dubai on Friday & successfully clinched the IPL title for the fourth time. CSK, who posted 192/3 on the board on the back of Faf du Plessis brilliant 86, restricted KKR to 165/9 and sealed a 27-run win.

While chasing the target, Shubman Gill smashed four on the first ball he has faced where Venkatesh Iyer got a second life in the game. Iyer hit a shot that could have been landed into Dhoni’s hands however Veknkatesh Iyer got saved from dismissal as MS Dhoni couldn’t complete the catch in the second over. The lifeline granted to Iyer by Dhoni proved costly for CSK as Venkatesh Iyer hit three fours & a six by the end of the fourth over. The KKR opening pair continued their impressive form with the bat and powered the team to 55/0 after 6 overs. Though CSK bowlers practiced restricted bowling, Iyer & Gill scored 16 runs in the 10th over. During the 10th over, Venkatesh Iyer completed his crucial fourth half-century of the IPL 2021 & together the duo of Gill & Iyer took KKR over the 88 runs mark.

The Battle of Tacticians won by the ‘Mastermind’ Ms Dhoni

CSK bowlers held their nerves & made a much-needed comeback in the clash. Shardul Thakur struck & removed Venkatesh Iyer, courtesy of a brilliant catch in the deep by Ravindra Jadeja. Shardul continued with his lethal bowling attack by marking his second wicket of the day by dismissing Nitish Rana, here the credit goes to Plessis who took a low catch in the 11th over. In the very next over, Josh Hazlewood caught Sunil Narine as Jadeja took a stunning catch near the ropes. By dismissing Narine, CSK scalped three wickets in a row for just nine runs.

While Shubman Gill registered his fifty, CSK continued to keep KKR’s batsmen at the bay by scalping wickets at regular intervals. Deepak Chahar trapped Shubman Gill before the wickets in the 14th over. Jadeja then bowled a double-wicket over, dismissing Dinesh Karthik and Shakib Al Hasan to push KKR on the backfoot. Shardul caught Rahul Tripathi to mark his third wicket of the summit clash while Hazlewood registered the second wicket of the fixture by dismissing Eoin Morgan in the 17th over. Though Shivam Mavi & Lockie Ferguson’s quick cameo of 39 runs provided some relief, it was too late as CSK headed strong in the death overs & were successful in sealing a spectacular win to proudly hold the glitzy IPL trophy for the fourth time.

The game unfolded with KKR winning the toss & electing to bowl first. Shakib Al Hasan and Shivam Mavi kept things tight in the first two overs and were almost rewarded with the wicket of du Plessis in the third over. But Dinesh Karthik’s sluggish fielding skills provided second life to Faf Du Plessis. Meanwhile, CSK’s star opener Ruturaj Gaikwad continued his excellent batting spell by hitting a four & a six in the same over to get CSK on the groove.

Faf Du Plessis and Ruturaj hit a four each in the next over before going on to complete another fifty-run partnership on the final ball of the powerplay. Just 11 runs later, KKR managed to break their opening stand with Narine sending Gaikwad back to the pavilion as Shivam Mavi took the catch in the deep.

But CSK smashed Shakib-Al-Hasan in the 10th over as Faf Du Plessis & Robin Uthappa hit a six each to guide CSK to 80/1. The two kept KKR bowlers at bay & completed their fifty-run stand in just 25 balls. Meanwhile, du Plessis, who was playing his 100th IPL game, brought up his 22nd IPL half-century.

Sunil Narine once again came to KKR’s rescue as he trapped Uthappa before the wickets to give Eoin Morgan and Co. their second wicket. However, CSK continued to head strong as Faf Du Plessis continued his onslaught with the bat along with Moeen Ali. The newly formed pair cashed in all scoring opportunities & targeted the KKR bowling to bring the third successive fifty-plus stand for CSK in the final.

While du Plessis got out on the final ball of the innings after scoring a blistering 86, he and Moeen, who scored a quickfire 37* off 20 balls, scored 61 runs in the last five overs to push CSK to 192/3.

Brief Scores:

Chennai Super Kings 192/3 (Faf du Plessis 86, Moeen Ali 37*; Sunil Narine 2/26) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 165/9 (Shubman Gill 51, Venkatesh Iyer 50; Shardul Thakur 3/38) by 27 runs.

Stay hooked to Cricketflicker for the Latest Cricket News on the IPL 2021, Full IPL 2021 Schedule, IPL 2021 Live Cricket Score, Ball to Ball Commentary, IPL Cricket Match Score, IPL Latest Cricket Score, IPL Cricket Match Updates & much more


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here