IPL 2022: CSK to retain MS Dhoni for three seasons, Rishabh Pant to Lead Delhi Capitals


IPL 2022: CSK to retain MS Dhoni for three seasons, Rishabh Pant to Lead Delhi Capitals

The IPL 2022 auction is just a few days away & the franchises are busy preparing their player retentions list. CSK is likely to retain their captain, MS Dhoni, for the next three seasons of the IPL.

Apart from MS Dhoni, the franchise is all set to retain the all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja & Ruturaj Gaikwad who have played integral roles in CSK IPL 2021 title win. As per the BCCI rules, each team is allowed to retain a maximum of four players & CSK is also planning to retain Moeen Ali. The franchise is planning to retain the astounding all-rounder as they feel that Moeen Ali could be a great asset on slow & turning pitches of India. Earlier BCCI Jay Shah has stated that the IPL 2022 will be played in India from April 2022. If Moeen Ali denies staying with the franchise then CSK will consider left-arm medium-pacer Sam Curran as their fourth retention.

The BCCI has given a deadline of November 30 for all the franchisees to submit their lists of retained players as the IPL 2022 mega auction will be held in December.  CSK retaining MS Dhoni isn’t a surprise as he is the spinal cord of the “Yellove Army” & his presence with the team is vital for their success. At a recent event, MS Dhoni had confirmed that he will play his last T20I on the grounds of Chennai.

“I have always planned my cricket. My last ODI in India was in Ranchi. Hopefully, my last T20 will be in Chennai. Whether it’s next year or in five years’ time, I don’t know,” Dhoni had said.

What comes as a surprise for the fans is the fact that CSK will not retain Suresh Raina for the upcoming season of the IPL. They have taken this major decision on the back of Raina’s poor form because of which he didn’t play crucial knockout IPL matches.

Delhi Capitals franchise is all set to retain captain Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw & pacer Anrich Nortje ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction. According to reports, Delhi Capitals has released Shreyas Iyer because he wanted to lead the franchise but Delhi Capitals was willing to have Rishabh Pant as their captain for the upcoming seasons as well.

Most of the franchisees are planning to not follow the four players retention tactic as it could cause them major expenses during the IPL 2022 auction. On the other hand, the Mumbai Indians franchise will retain their key players Rohit Sharma & Jasprit Bumrah ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction. While negotiations are made with their star all-rounder Kieron Pollard. Teh franchise also wants to buy Suryakumar Yadav from the auction pool and chances of Ishan Kishan being retained for the upcoming editions are also high.

Two new teams Sanjiv Goenka’s RPSG group and CVC Capitals (though they haven’t been given the green signal yet from the board) are planning to include some big names to their franchise & they have begun approaching a few of top Indian players.

According to sources, India’s opener KL Rahul will lead Goenka’s Lucknow team as the swashbuckling batsman has already parted ways with Punjab Kings & has accepted Goenka’s offer. Even Yadav was approached by the new franchise but the batsman hasn’t responded to their offer yet.

The Kolkata-based franchise is likely to retain their top two all-rounders Sunil Narine & Andre Russell while they are willing to retain Varun Chakravarthy also. The franchise is still discussing whether to retain Shubman Gill or Venkatesh Iyer.

Let’s have a look at the list of players retained by the franchisees:

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali/Sam Curran

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Kieron Pollard (talks on), Ishan Kishan (likely)

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here