IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR : Gujarat beats Rajasthan by seven wickets to clinch their Maiden IPL Title


IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR : Gujarat beats Rajasthan by seven wickets to clinch their Maiden IPL Title

Gujarat Titans crowned as the ‘Champions’ of the IPL 2022

The Narendra Modi Stadium was lightened with gleaming lights, roars of cheers & hopes of lakhs of spectators to see their favorite team lifting the IPL 2022 Title. And finally, the IPL 2022 got their titleholder in face of Gujarat Titans. The debutants made their dream come true by winning their IPL trophy right in their maiden IPL season. Gujarat Titans displayed an all-around performance to beat inaugural champions Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets in the IPL 2022 Final on Sunday. They first produced an outstanding bowling spell to restrict RR to a meager 130 runs target & later chased the total in 18 overs to complete their 74-day-long journey by winning the IPL 2022 Trophy. It was all dreamy for the debutants Gujarat Titans.

RR batters succumb in front of GT’s fiery bowling- spell

Earlier, the match unfolded with RR winning the toss & opting to bat first. RR made a good start to their innings with openers Yashasvi Jaiswal & Jos Buttler scoring 21 runs in 3 overs. But the duo faced a blow after Yash Dayal dismissed Jaiswal in the 4th over for 22 runs, reducing RR to 31-1. Sanju Samson then joined hands with Buttler & the duo did the rebuilding work for RR. But soon, their blooming partnership got broken by Hardik Pandya who dismissed Sanju Samson after scoring 14 runs. Samson’s dismissal resulted in a bit of collapse for RR as they lost back-to-back wickets within the next two overs.

RR suffered a huge blow in the 13th over when they lost their ‘go-to-man’ Buttler off Hardik Pandya’s delivery, reducing RR to 79-4 in 13 overs. Later, Shimron Hetmyer & Ravichandran Ashwin tried to anchor RR’s innings but failed to do so as Hardik removed Hetmyer in the 15th over, followed by Ashwin who was sent packing by Sai Kishore in the 16th over with RR’s total reading at 98-6. Riyan Parag & Trent Boult tried to do the magic for RR but couldn’t stand for long as Boult was dismissed by Rahul Tewatia in the 18th over. The wickets kept falling for RR & in the end, RR was reduced to 130-9.

Shubman- Miller solid pair guided GT to their Maiden IPL title

In reply, Gujarat Titans got off to a poor start as they lost early wickets in the power play overs, reducing Gujarat Titans to 23-2. At this moment, the Titans needed a stable stand & Shubman Gill & Captain Hardik Pandya on the crease did that by taking their team over the 50-run mark in 9.2 overs. Soon their dangerous-looking 63-run stand was broken by Chahal who dismissed Hardik for 34 to become the leading wicket-taker of the season with 27 wickets in his kitty.

David Miller then walked in to bat with Shubman Gill & the duo took GT’s total beyond the triple run mark in 15.2 overs. Miller-Gill’s stand was remarkable & the dup was successful in taking their team close to the target. Shubman Gill smashed a huge six off McCoy’s delivery to score winning runs for Gujrat Titans & guided them to their maiden IPL title. Shubman Gill stayed unbeaten at 45 while Miller scored an unbeaten 32 off 19 balls to guide GT over the line in 18.1 overs & won the final by seven wickets.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here