Kieron Pollard ruled out of the Pakistan tour due to a hamstring injury

Kieron Pollard ruled out of the Pakistan tour due to a hamstring injury

Kieron Pollard will not feature in the Pakistan tour which will commence next week after failing to recover from a hamstring injury that he suffered at the T20 World Cup 2021. In his absence Nicholas Pooran will lead the T20I team & Shai Hope will captain the ODI team. Meanwhile, Rovman Powell will replace Kieron Pollard in the T20Is & wicket-keeper batter Devon Thomas will feature in ODIs.

“With Pollard ruled out of the tour Nicholas Pooran will lead the team in the T20Is. He was stand-in captain when West Indies beat Australia 4-1 in the five-match CG Insurance T20I series in St.Lucia earlier this year”, CWI said in a statement.

“Shai hope will captain the team in the ODIs for the first time. Pooran is the vice Captain for the ODIs & Shai Hope the vice-captain for the T20Is”, the statement added.

The CWI stated that Pollard will undergo rehabilitation work in Trinidad & will be reassessed in a few weeks ahead of the home series against Ireland and England in January 2022. The T20Is series will commence on December 13 & will end on 16 December while the ODI series will start on 18th December & end on 22nd December. The three ODIs are a part of the World Cup Super League where West Indies are placed on the eighth spot on the Points table by registering four wins out of nine ODIs they have played. A 3-0 sweep will lift West Indies to the third position.

Jason Holder, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis, or Shimron Hetmyer will not feature in the T20Is & ODI squads. The ODI squad is full of inexperienced players like Justin Greaves, Shamarh Brooks, Gudakesh Motie, and Odean Smith while the T20I squad includes Dominic Drakes and Motie. West Indies had performed exceptionally when Pooran has stood in as Captain. Under his leadership, West Indies defeated Australia 4-1 in home condition earlier this year. Shai Hope will be his T20I vice-captain while Pooran will be the vice-captain of the ODI team. All the T20I & ODI fixtures will be played in Karachi.

ODI squad: 

Shai Hope (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr, Devon Thomas

T20I squad: 

Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Rovman Powell

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here