KSCA officially Launches Maharaja Trophy T20 Tournament, slated to begin on August 7


KSCA officially Launches Maharaja Trophy T20 Tournament, slated to begin on August 7

The Karnataka State Cricket Association officially launched the Maharaja Trophy T20 tournament on Saturday. The tournament will be played from August 7 to 26, in the State of Karnataka. All the Stalwarts of the Karnataka State team are set to show their prowess in the newly launched T20 league. The Maharaja Trophy T20 league will see six teams representing Bengaluru, Mysore, Hubli, Shimoga, Raichur, and Mangalore competing for the coveted trophy. All the teams will be formed via a player’s draft, said KSCA secretary Santosh Menon.

The first 18 matches of the Maharaja Trophy T20 tournament will be played at the Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wadiyar Ground in Mysore while the next 16 matches including the summit clash will be played in Bengaluru at the Chinnaswamy Stadium. The players will be selected through a Player Draft which will soon be conducted by the KSCA, with all the rights regarding the tournament reserved with the Karnataka State Cricket Association.

“All the top cricketers within the age bracket of 35 years will be eligible to take part in the tournament. The teams will be formed through a player draft, and KSCA will nominate the Captains and Vice Captains for the teams and we will assign support staff for each of the six teams,”  Santosh Menon, Hon. Secretary of KSCA said.

The logo & the trophy with the ‘Maharaja theme’ are curated with an engraved metal pillar adorned by 11 solid wings that suggest the number of players involved in the game of cricket. The two-week-long T20 tournament will enable the Stalwarts of Karnataka State team to showcase their talent in front of spectators under floodlights & grab the attention of BCCI which provides opportunities to emerging talents.

What’s fascinating about the Maharaj Trophy T20 tournament is that the entire event will be live telecast on  Star Sports 2 and Star Sports Kannada. It will also be live streamed on the Fan code app for larger consumption.

“Through the process of inviting expression of interest from corporates for team sponsorship and naming rights, Cycle Argarbattis, Kalyani Motors, Jindal Steels, Fiza Developers and Infrastructure Pvt Ltd, Gulbarga Megaspeed and Micon Engineers (Hubli) have been named as team sponsors for Mysore, Bengaluru, Hubli, Mangalore, and Raichur respectively. We are in the process of finalizing a team sponsor for Shimoga,” stated Vinay Mruthyunjaya, Hon. Treasurer of KSCA.

“There will be no involvement of team sponsors in selecting playing XI, or any other aspects of the game. All the commercial rights and cricketing rights will be held by KSCA alone,” Mruthyunjaya asserted.

Karnataka team’s top cricketers including Devdutt Padikkal, Shreyas Gopal, K Gowtham, Manish Pandey, J Suchith, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Abhinav Manohar, KC Cariappa, Pravin Dubey and Abhimanyu Mithun are expected to feature in the Maharaja Trophy T20 tournament.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here