LPL 2021: Second edition of the Lanka Premier League to begin on July 30, final on 22nd August

LPL 2021 to start from July 30, Finals on 22nd August

LPL 2021: Sri Lanka Cricket on Tuesday confirmed that the LPL 2021 will start on July 30 & the final will be played on August 22. Health Protocols for the second edition of the Lanka Premier League will be planned as per the directives of the Ministry of Health.

“The inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League received fabulous audience attention & the millions of fans from across the world has viewed the tournament via TV & Digital mediums with 135 million viewers watching the final of the Lanka Premier League”, said Sri Lanka cricket in an Official Statement.

The first edition of the Lanka Premier League was a huge success. It is Sri Lanka’s topmost domestic T20 League with an added International flavor. It was started in the year 2020 & was held at the MRICS, Hambantota, with almost five teams participating in the lucrative league. The LPL 2020 was conducted under a successful bio-bubble environment from November 26 last year.

Jaffna Stallions team won the inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League as the team defeated the Galle Gladiators franchise in the final of the LPL 2020 on December 16, 2020. Danushka Gunathilaka of the Galle Gladiators franchise has registered the highest runs in the LPL 2020 by scoring 476 runs in 10 matches, while Wanindu Hasaranga of the Jaffna Stallions team was the highest wicket-taker in the LPL 2020.

Meanwhile, The Cricket West Indies selection panel on Friday announced a provisional 17 player squad for the upcoming test series against South Africa. This tour has been rescheduled for the year 2020, includes two tests & five T20Is to be played from June 10 to July 3. The matches will be played in St. Lucia at the Da ren Sammy Cricket Ground & Grenada at the National Cricket Stadium, respectively.

Whereas, the Indian team is also scheduled to tour Sri Lanka in July for the limited-overs series comprising of three ODIs & Three T20Is. According to the sources, the series will begin with the ODIS on July 13, 16, 19 followed by T20s on July 22, 24, 27. The Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed that all six matches of the India tour will be played in Colombo.

For all the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates subscribe to Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here