LPL 2022 Draft: Franchisees announces new signings & retained players, Check Out the List!


LPL 2022 Draft: Franchisees announces new signings & retained players, Check Out the List!

The Draft for the LPL 2022 was held on Tuesday evening & each of the franchisees was allowed to select six international players, one from each price category barring Gold & Silver. Sri Lankan players were present in all categories. The draft was divided into seven price points: Ruby (US$ 60,000; approx LKR 21.5 million) Sapphire ($ 50,000; approx LKR 18 million), Diamond A ($ 40,000; approx LKR 14 million), Diamond B ($ 25,000; approx LKR 9 million), Platinum ($ 15000; approx LKR 5 million), Gold ($ 10,000; approx LKR 3.5 million) and Silver ($ 3000; approx LKR 1 million). Franchisees picked players from each category & tried to build a perfect squad for the upcoming edition of LPL.

Jaffna Kings

Jaffna Kings are already reeling with the loss of Hasaranga, Avishka & Lakmal Hasaranga as Hasaranga has been signed by the Kandy Falcons, Avishka is out long-term with a knee injury and Lakmal has retired. Despite the setback, Kings have focused on rebuilding their core by picking up Thisara (Ruby), Malik (Sapphire), and Theekshana (Diamond A) in the pre-draft signings while they picked up wicketkeeper-batter Rahmanullah Gurbaz in the draft.

They went for West Indies opener Evin Lewis (Ruby) and South African quick Hardus Viljoen (Sapphire) as their pre-draft overseas signings. The remaining overseas slots were filled by 23-year-old Pakistan quick Shahnawaz Dahani (Diamond B) and 21-year-old South African wicketkeeper-batter Tristan Stubbs.

Their fans will also be excited by the inclusion of all-rounders Dhananjaya de Silva (Sapphire) and Dunith Wellalage (Diamond B), their captain at the U-19 World Cup earlier this year. Both were signed pre-draft as direct local signings.


Evin Lewis, Thisara Perera, Hardus Viljoen, Dhananjaya de Silva, Shoaib Malik, Shahnawaz Dahani, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Maheesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Dunith Wellalage, Tristan Stubbs, Praveen Jayawickrama, Sumida Lakshan, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dilshan Madushanka, Nipun Dananjaya, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Theesan Vidushan, Theivendiram Dinoshan, Ashan Randika

Galle Gladiators

Gladiators who made it to the summit clash twice & lost it both times will miss the services of their captain Bhanuka Rajapaksa who went to Dambulla Giants. However, they have managed to retain the services of Danushka Gunathilaka (Ruby) and Kusal Mendis (Diamond A) – the respective top scorers in the past two editions of the tournament.

They have added a few new players to their line-up by bringing in Pakistan allrounders Imad Wasim (Ruby) and Faheem Ashraf (Sapphire as direct pre-draft overseas signings. The major signing from the main draft for Gladiators was Proteas tp order batter Pakistan allrounders Imad Wasim (Ruby) and Faheem Ashraf (Sapphire) brought in as direct pre-draft overseas signings.

Squad: Imad Wasim, Danushka Gunathilaka, Faheem Ashraf, Dushmantha Chameera, Janneman Malan, Sherfane Rutherford, Azam Khan, Kusal Mendis, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Thushara, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Pulina Tharanga, Nuwanidu Fernando, Nimesh Vimukthi, Movin Subasinhga, Nipun Malinga, Sachindu Colombage, Lakshan Gamage, Tharindu Kaushal, Sammu Ashan

 Colombo Stars

For Colombo stars, one of the major plus points is that they were successful in retaining the services of their key players such as Angelo Mathews (Ruby), Dinesh Chandimal (Diamond B), and Seekkuge Prasanna (Platinum), and Jeffrey Vandersay (Platinum). They bolstered their line-up by adding two exciting left-hand batters in Charith Asalanka (Sapphire) and Niroshan Dickwella (Diamond A).

However, the major setback they suffered is losing the services of Chameera and Dhananjaya to rival sides, and there is no Kusal Perera either this year as he is recovering from an injury. They tried to balance their squad by bringing in Dwaine Pretorius (Ruby) as their premier overseas signing.


Dwaine Pretorius, Angelo Mathews, Asif Ali, Charith Asalanka, Dominic Drakes, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Karim Janat, Seekkuge Prasanna, Jeffrey Vandersay, Ishan Jayaratne, Muditha Lakshan, Lakshitha Manasinghe, Kevin Koththigoda, Chathuranga Kumara, Navod Paranavithana, Chamod Battage

Dambulla Giants

In an attempt to add more depth to their line-up, Dambulla Giants added Rajapaksa to their squad. They further addressed the issue of lack of big hitters with the signings of Australian allrounders D’Arcy Short (Ruby) and Ben Cutting (Sapphire), while New Zealand wicketkeeper-batter Tim Seifert and Pakistan batter Haider Ali – both in the Diamond B category – further bolster Giants’ middle order.

They further boosted their spin attack by signing Nepal’s Sandeep Lamichhane who has contributed to their success by scalping 34 wickets across three seasons.


D’Arcy Short, Dasun Shanaka, Ben Cutting, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Sandeep Lamichhane, Tim Seifert, Haider Ali, Chaturanga de Silva, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Sheldon Cottrell, Tharindu Ratnayake, Pramod Madushan, Lasith Croospulle, Kalana Perera, Dilum Sudeera, Sachitha Jayathilake, Dushan Hemantha, Sacha De Alwis, Ravindu Fernando

Kandy Falcons

Kandy Falcons didn’t have a good stint in the previous seasons of LPL. Howveer, this season they have a clear statement of intent by grabbing the services of Sri Lanka’s premier spinner Hasaranga (Ruby) as their top-most priority pre-draft signing. Another planned move they made is by signing Pakistan’s Usman Shinwari (Platinum), and Matheesha Pathirana (Diamond B) who will strengthen their pace attack. They all signed seam-bowling allrounders Carlos Brathwaite (Ruby), Chamika Karunaratne (Sapphire), and Isuru Udana (Diamond A) – all three of whom will add power-hitting options lower down the order.

Meanwhile, South Africa’s Dewald Brevis (Diamond B) and Australia’s Chris Green (Diamond B) round up the overseas draft picks


Carlos Brathwaite, Wanindu Hasaranga, Fabian Allen, Chamika Karunaratne, Andre Fletcher, Dewald Brevis, Chris Green, Isuru Udana, Matheesha Pathirana, Ashen Bandara, Usman Shinwari, Kamindu Mendis, Ashan Priyanjan, Minod Bhanuka, Avishka Perera, Ashian Daniel, Malinda Pushpakumara, Janith Liyanage, Lasith Abeyratne, Kavin Bandara

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here