Myburgh & Glover returns as Netherlands announces squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifiers


Myburgh & Glover returns as Netherlands announces squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifiers

T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifiers: Netherlands announced the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 Global Qualifier B to be held in Zimbabwe. The squad sees the return of veteran opener Stephan Myburgh and Northamptonshire seamer Brandon Glover who received a call-up for the crucial qualifier event. Further to boost Dutch’s seam department the management has also included Kent’s Fred Klaassen and Gloucestershire’s Paul in the set-up. This tour will mark the first assignment of Scott Edwards as the Captain of the Netherlands team.

Glover was Netherlands’ leading wicket-taker in the Global Qualifier held in 2019 which was won by the Netherlands. On the other hand, Myburg has received a call-up to the T20I squad on the back of his strong domestic form which puts him a potential candidate for the opening slot along with Vikram Singh or Max O’Dowd. Myburg had announced his retirement from ODIs during the Netherlands tour to New Zealand last year but remained available for T20Is.

Tom Cooper who made a comeback to the Netherlands squad after a long gap of six years during their home ODI series against England last month would play his first T20I for the Dutch side since the T20 World Cup 2016. As Netherlands Captain Pieter Seelaar has retired from international cricket, the inclusion of Top Cooper will act as a boon for the Netherlands team who is a prolific batter & also has the ability of bowling off-spin which can be used by captain Scott Edwards in the absence of Leicestershire captain Colin Ackermann and Somerset’s Roelof van der Merwe.

Dutch’s spin department looks inexperienced with their frontline spinners under their teens. 22-year-old Philippe Boissevain is the only senior leg-spinner of the two legspinners in the squad. Left-arm spinner Tim Pringle and offspinner Aryan Dutt are the other front-line slow bowlers who are also in their teens.  Rounding off their batting department are seam all-rounders Bas de Leede, Logan van Beek and newcomer Teja Nidamanuru, who made his ODI debut against the West Indies earlier in the Summer.

With three county pacers released to join van Beek and de Leede in the seam section & tournament’s reduced budget, Vivian Kingma and Ryan Klein were omitted from the squad. Left-arm spinner Clayton Floyd and top-order bat Musa Ahmad are the two other members of the Netherlands extended squad to be left out from the announced squad.

The Netherlands will play multiple warm-up matches at Harare against the USA and a Zimbabwe select XI before traveling down to Bulawayo, where they play their first Group B match against Papua New Guinea on Monday 11th July at Queens Club, before taking on Hong Kong the next day, followed by their final group game against Uganda two days later.

T20 World Cup Qualifiers: Netherlands Squad

Scott Edwards (c), Stephan Myburgh, Vikram Singh, Max O’Dowd, Tom Cooper, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Tim Pringle, Shariz Ahmad, Philippe Boissevain, Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, Brandon Glover

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here