Naseem Shah replaces Hasan Ali as Pakistan announces squad for Netherlands series and Asia Cup 2022


Naseem Shah replaces Hasan Ali as Pakistan announces squad for Netherlands series and Asia Cup 2022

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced its squad for the upcoming ODI series against the Netherlands and the ACC Asia Cup 2022. The 50-over games against the Netherlands will form a part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League whereas the Asia cup will boost the preparations for the approaching T-20 World Cup in Australia.

In a major breakthrough for Naseem Shah, the express paceman has been inducted into the side replacing Hasan Ali. Notably, the uncapped white-ball bowler has been included in both the one-day series against the Netherlands and the crucial Asia Cup 2022 in the United Arab Emirates.

Salma Agha earns a call-up to the ODI Squad, and Shaheen Afridi retains a Place in both the Squads

Hasan Ali has been performing below the benchmark despite being provided with numerous opportunities. Meanwhile, all-rounder Salman Agha who displayed a stellar performance against Sri Lanka has also been included in the ODI squad for the Netherlands series.

Naseem Shah has made a marvelous debut for Pakistan in test cricket. He has played 13 matches where he picked 33 wickets with an average of 36.3. Shah will likely put up the same amount of energy and efforts in the white-ball format as he heads towards two crucial series for Pakistan.

The PCB has also retained frontline paceman Shaheen Shah Afridi in both squads. Afridi was ruled out of the recently concluded series against Sri Lanka after sustaining an injury. He will likely go under a rehabilitation program where the physicians will ascertain his comeback into international cricket.

Chief Selector of PCB Mohammad Wasim said that the committee has only made the changes that were necessary and added that both the series are of crucial importance for the nation. Shafique, Haq, Haris, Agha, and Mehmood will play the ODI series and pave the way for Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Usman Qadir for the Asia Cup.

Babar Azam will continue to lead the side for both series.

Pakistan’s 16-member squad for the Netherlands series:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (VC), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam ul Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Zahid Mehmood, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Salman Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani

Pakistan’s 15-member squad for the Asia Cup:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (VC), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Qadir, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani

The Netherlands ODI series will begin on 16th August whereas Pakistan will kick start their Asia Cup campaign against arch-rivals India on 28th August.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here