SL W vs IND W: Sri Lanka Women announces squad for white ball series


SL W vs IND W: Sri Lanka Women announces squad for white ball series

SL W vs IND W: Sri Lanka Women have announced a 19-member squad for their white ball series against India which starts on June 23 in Dambulla. What comes as a surprise package is the inclusion of the uncapped pair of legspinner Rashmi de Silva and wicketkeeper-batter Kaushani Nuthyangana in their white-ball squad. The hosts further made six changes to their squad that toured Pakistan by naming left-arm seamer Tharika Sewwandi and allrounders Vishmi Gunaratne, Sathya Sandeepani, and Malsha Shehani in the home white ball series. On the other hand, experienced wicketkeeper-batter Prasadani Weerakkody and young left-arm spinner Sachini Nisansala have been left out.

All-rounder Hansikma Karunaratne retains her place in the squad after being drafted into Pakistan’s squad as a replacement for highly-rated batter Imesha Dulani, 20, who is currently recovering from a long-term knee injury. De Silva who has impressed team management during the inter-squad practice games has been named to the squad. Meanwhile, Nuthyangana will start the tour off as an understudy to the veteran Anushka Sanjeewani.

Sandeepjani will serve as an injury cover while Shehani makes a return to the national squad after an absence of four long years. The selectors have included her on the back of her impressive domestic performances as well as her renewed focus on fitness. Teenager Gunaratne who is known for her strokeplay returns to the national team after being rested for Sri Lanka’s Pakistan tour.

The squad also featured several all-rounders; only Sanjeewani, Madavi, Perera, and Nuthyangana are pure batters. Captain Chamari Athapaththu, Nilakshi de Silva, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Dilhari, Karunaratne, Gunaratne, Shehani, and Sandeepani, are handy with both bat & ball.

Sri Lanka Women team’s pace department will be spearheaded by Udeshika Prabodhani and Oshadi Ranasinghe, with Sewwandi also in the mix. Inoka Ranaweera and Sugandika Kumari offer left-arm spin options, alongside de Silva’s leg-spin.

Sri Lanka Women will lock horns with India Women in three T20Is & three ODIs. The white ball series will start with the T20Is in Dambulla on June 23, 25, and 27, followed by the ODIs on July 1, 4, and 7 at Pallekele.

SL W vs IND W: Sri Lanka squad for ODIs and T20Is

 Chamari Athapaththu (capt.), Hasini Perera, Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeevani, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweeram, Achini Kulasuriya, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Ama Kanchana, Udeshika Prabodhani, Rashmi de Silva, Hansima Karunaratne, Kaushani Nuthyangana, Sathya Sandeepani, Tharika Sewwandi

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here