Smriti Mandhana, Gaby Lewis among the nominees for ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year 2021 Award


Smriti Mandhana, Gaby Lewis among the nominees for ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year 2021 Award

The International Cricket Council on Thursday announced England cricketers Tammy Beaumont, Nat Sciver, Smriti Mandhana & Gaby Lewis as the four nominees for the ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year 2021 Award.

The ICC Awards 2021 will recognize the outstanding achievements & feats in cricket over the past year. Let’s have a look at the achievements of the nominees of ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year 2021 Award:

  • Smriti Mandhana: Indian women’s team played nine T20Is in 2021 but managed to win just two of them. In the two T20Is that India won, Smriti Mandhana was the limelight. She played a vital role in India’s first T20I triumph against South Africa by amassing 48 runs off 28 balls, chasing 113 in the final T20I.  the win saved India from facing a series sweep at the hands of the South Africa Women’s team.

Smriti Mandhana was India’s top run-scorer in the T20I series against England by smashing 119 runs but couldn’t transfer the knock into team victory due to a lack of support from other batters. She was India’s top scorer in both the matches that India lost including a 51 ball 70 runs knock in the final T20I. Mandhana’s second half-century in T20I format came against Australia in the final match of the T20I series that went in vain as India fell short of 14 runs to win the clash.

  • Gaby Lewis: Gaby Lewis who finished 2021 as the second-highest run-scorer in T20Is has been honored by being nominated for the ICC Women’s Player of the Year 2021 Award. She played an integral role in Ireland’s two series win by winning the ‘Player of the Match’ award twice in Ireland’s 3-1 series win over Scotland at home ground. In both the series she scored 40+ scores but missed out on her much deserved fifties.

However, she reached her desirable milestone by scoring her maiden T20I fifty against the Netherlands. Lewis 52* helped Ireland to win the series with a game in spare. She also scripted history at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier in August by becoming the first women cricketer from Ireland to score a century in t20I format.

  • Tammy Beaumont: Tammy Beaumont was the third-highest run-scorer in women’s cricket for the year & England’s highest run scorers in t20Is for 2021. In England’s T20I series against New Zealand away from home she was the highest run-scorer for England & was awarded ‘Player of the Series award for scoring 103 runs in all three T20Is against the White Ferns. Her gleaming 53 balls 63 in the second match helped England to take a winning position even after losing two wickets in power play.

During England’s home series against New Zealand, Beaumont finished as the highest run-scorer in the series with 113 runs which included a blistering 97 runs knock in the opening match of the series.

  • Nat Sciver: Nat Sciver has proved her mettle in all three of England’s series wins by ending the year as their third-highest run-scorer & wicket-taker in T20Is in 2021. In the first t20I during England’s tour of New Zealand Sciver dismissed Sophie Devine & Amy Sattherwaite within the Powerplay. While batting at No 2 she helped England move across the line while chasing a total of 97.

In the second match, she helped to dismiss white ferns lower order by scalping two wickets to restrict New Zealand to 123. She has ended the series with five wickets which was the joint highest score with three other players in line. Sciver displayed a ‘Player of the Match’ winning performance in the first T20I during the India tour of England by scoring a half-century & scalping a wicket in England’s 18 runs win. She also played a crucial knock of 42 in the final T20I to help England clinch the series by 2-1.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here