Sourav Ganguly appointed as the Chairman of ICC’s Cricket Committee


Sourav Ganguly appointed as the Chairman of ICC’s Cricket Committee

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has been appointed as the Chairman of the ICC’s cricket committee, the International Cricket Council confirmed on November 17. Sourav Ganguly will replace his former India teammate Anil Kumble who has served as the chairman of the ICC cricket committee for nine long years after being appointed for the role in 2012.

“I am delighted to welcome Sourav to the position of Chair of the ICC Men’s Cricket Committee,” ICC Chairman Greg Barclay said. “His experience as one of the world’s best players and latterly as an administrator will help us shape our cricketing decisions moving forward. I would also like to thank Anil for his outstanding leadership over the last nine years which has included improving the international game through more regular and consistent application of DRS and a robust process for addressing suspect bowling actions.”

The ICC Board took a number of landmark decisions on Tuesday with the most important being the formation of a Working Group to review the status of cricket in Afghanistan after the change in government. Ever since the Taliban came in power in Afghanistan there have been concerns regarding the future of sports in Afghanistan- especially women’s cricket. Due to the Taliban’s stern decision of not allowing women’s cricket in Afghanistan, Cricket Australia has postponed their one-off test against the Afghan clan.

Imran Khwaja has been named Chairman of this Group including Ross McCollum, Lawson Naidoo, and Ramiz Raja. “The ICC Board is committed to continuing to support Afghanistan Cricket to develop both men’s and women’s cricket moving forward,” Barclay said. “We believe the most effective way for this to happen will be to support our Member in its efforts to achieve this through its relationship with the new government.

“Cricket is fortunate to be in the position to influence positive change in Afghanistan with the national men’s team a source of great pride and unity in a country with a young population that has experienced more upheaval and change than most. We should protect that status and continue to try to influence change through the ACB but will continue to closely monitor the situation and take any decisions accordingly.”

The ICC also decided to stick to the existing format of the WTC where nine teams play over a tenure of two years with the top two teams reaching the finals. As the number of participating teams in the ODI World Cup increased to 14 for the 2027 edition, the ICC has decided that the top 10 teams in the rankings at a predetermined cutoff date will qualify automatically for the tournament. The rest of the slots will be determined via a qualifier.

The ICC Board has also approved the appointment of Johnny Grave, the CEO of Cricket West Indies to the ICC Women’s Cricket Committee. The ICC has also given approval for the application of first-class status & List A classification to women’s cricket.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News on ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here