Sourav Ganguly open ups on dismissing Virat Kohli from ODI captaincy


Sourav Ganguly open ups on dismissing Virat form ODI captaincy

The BCCI President Sourav Ganguly has clarified on removing Virat Kohli from ODI Captaincy. Ganguly said that according to the selectors there was no room for two captains in white-ball cricket. He also stated that the National team selectors were not comfortable with the idea of having two different captains for the ODI & T20I format.

“It’s a call that the BCCI and the selectors took together. Actually, the BCCI had requested Virat to not step down as the T20I skipper but obviously, he did not agree. And the selectors then did not feel it right to have two different captains for two white-ball formats,” Ganguly told ANI.

Ganguly further said that it was decided that Virat Kohli will continue as test captain while Rohit Sharma will take over as white-ball captain. Ganguly also emphasized that he himself & the chairman of selectors have spoken to Virat Kohli about their decision.

Opening batsman Rohit Sharma will take over the reins of ODI captaincy from Virat Kohli right from the ODI series against South Africa which is slated to begin in January next year. Sourav Ganguly further thanked Virat Kohli for his crucial contributions in the white-ball format.

“We have full faith in Rohit Sharma’s leadership abilities, and Virat will continue as the Test captain. We as BCCI are confident that Indian cricket is in good hands. We thank Virat Kohli for his contributions as captain in the white-ball format,” the BCCI president added.

Rohit Sharma was also named as India’s test vice-captain as the All India Senior Selection Committee selected an 18 member squad for the three-match Test series against South Africa. The Test series, which gets underway from December 26, will form a part of the new cycle of the ICC World Test Championship.

IND vs SA 2021: India Test Squad

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed. Siraj.

Standby players –

Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here