South Africa T20 World Cup 2021 Squad: CSA announces 15 man squad for the Marquee Event

South Africa T20 World Cup 2021 Squad: Proteas announces a 15 member squad for the Marquee Event

Cricket South Africa has announced a 15 member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021. What comes as a shocker for all the cricket lovers is the exclusion of Faf Du Plessis from South Africa T20 World Cup 2021 squad.

Despite being available to play International white ball cricket, Faf Du Plessis is not included in the 15 member squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. Faf Du Plessis who has retired from tests in February has mentioned that playing T20 World Cup 2021 is one of his major goals. However he hasn’t played any white ball match for the Proteas squad since December last year & hasn’t been a part of any of their recent series either.

“Faf has got a wonderful record,” the selection convener Victor Mptisang said, “But at the moment, we want to be consistent in selection and this is the group of players we have gone with.”

Similarly Imran Tahir who has retired from ODIs after the conclusion of the 2019 World Cup but remained available for the T20Is has not been included in the South Africa T20 World Cup 2021 squad. Chris Morris who hasn’t played for South Africa in two years has also been left out from T20 World Cup 2021 squad. Chris Morris said that he is clueless about his future with South Africa National team.

Meanwhile, South Africa’s white ball Captain Temba Bavuma who has injured his finger during the first ODI of the limited overs series in Sri Lanka has been included in Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2021 squad. He is expected to recover by the mid of October to lead the Proteas T20 World Cup 2021 team. Three front-line spinners such as Tabraiz Shamsi, Keshav Maharaj and Bjorn Fortuin have been included in the 15 member squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. Spin bowling all-rounder George Linde will travel along with the team as a reserve player.

“It’s the subcontinent and with the IPL being played before the tournament so we know the wickets will take a lot of spin. We have to look at the balance of the squad,” Selector Mpitsang said in a television broadcast. “There is no better time than now for us to bring home the trophy and bring the nation together in a way that only sport can. We hope that South Africans will rally behind this team and cheer them all the way to the final”, Mpitsang added in his statement.

The selected team with the exception of Lungi Ngidi who has left to participate in the IPL 2021 will also play the three match T20I series against Sri Lanka which is set to begin in Colombo on Friday. Keshav Maharaj will continue as stand-in captain. Kesh is an excellent leader,” Mpitsang said. “His exemplary captaincy is what we believe is in the best interests of the team’s stability during this last international series that the team gets to play ahead of the World Cup.” Mpitsang added.

South Africa is placed in Group 1 in the Super 12 stage for the T20 World Cup 2021 along with England, Australia, West Indies and two qualifiers. They will start their campaign against Australia in Abu Dhabi on October 23.

South Africa T20 World Cup 2021 Squad

Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, WIaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

Reserves: Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams & George Linder will travel as reserves.

Catch up with the Latest Cricket News on ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here