Steve O’Keefe BBL: Aussie’s Star Spinner extends his contract with Sydney Sixers

Steve O'Keefe BBL

Steve O’Keefe BBL: Australian spinner Steve O’Keefe extended his contract with Sydney Sixers for another season, the BBL side announced on Monday.

O’Keefe 36, enters his 11th season with the Sydney Sixers, joining its captain Moises Henriques among a few players to play every season of the Big Bash League. “I am extremely grateful to cricket NSW & LEE Germon for giving me the opportunity to play another year of Cricket with the Sydney Sixers & keep playing the game that I love”, Steve O’Keefe said in a statement.

The veteran spinner is extremely excited to play the matches in front of fans in the upcoming BBL season. “There is nothing better than playing in front of your home crowd. I have never experienced a crowd quite like last year’s final. They were cheering even the dot balls”, said O’Keefe. “When I look back on it now, I have played a lot of cricket, they are the things that you look back & go, wow, that was such a great experience, how lucky are you to have experienced that“.

“So to have five games at the SCG when we only played one last season, that’s going to be awesome, and to be able to spread the game up to Coffs Harbour, where the buzz is just as exciting. I am looking forward to that as well”, he concluded.

Steve O’Keefe BBL: List of Achievements:

O’Keefe finished BBL 10 as the third all-time leading wicket-taker for the Sydney Sixers in the BBL by scalping 48 wickets at an impressive average of 26.64. He also played a key role in helping the Sydney Sixers clinch the title in BBL season 9. He has played a total of 84 matches for the Sydney Sixers Club where he cinched 63 wickets at an economy rate of 6.78

The Big Bash League will begin on 5th December at the Sydney Cricket Ground, with the Sydney Sixers hosting the Melbourne Stars in the opening match of the Big bash League. The final of the Big Bash League will be played on January 28, 2022.

Sydney Sixers BBL Squad

Contracted for BBL|11: Moises Henriques (C), Sean Abbott, Daniel Christian, Tom Curran (ENG), Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Daniel Hughes, Stephen O’Keefe, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyron, Ben Manenti, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here