T20 WC 2021, India vs Pakistan: The ‘Men in Green’ Scripts history, beats India by huge 10 wickets

Subscribe to our Channel ‘Buaksib’ to get buzzing cricket news on regular basis!

T20 WC 2021, India vs Pakistan: The much-anticipated clash turned into a nail-biting contest as Pakistan registers a stunning 10 wickets win over India in the 16th match of the T20 World Cup 2021 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. With this win, Pakistan broke its consecutive five times losing streak against India in the T20 World Cup. Before this game, India defeated the Men in Green seven times in ODI World Cups and five times in the T20I World Cups.

Pakistan’s squad held their nerves right from the beginning of the clash as Shaheen Afridi got the breakthrough by removing ‘hitman’ Rohit Sharma on the fourth bowl of the first over. A pure yorker on middle stumps caught Rohit Sharma below the wickets to send the opener for a golden duck. Rohit walked back to the pavilion by reducing India to 2-1. This was just the beginning of ‘Shaheen Afridi’s’ merciless attack with the ball which kept Indian batters at the bay throughout their innings.

The young pacer struck again to remove star opener, KL Rahul, from the field. Shaheen Afridi dislodged the stumps of KL Rahul, by dismissing him for 3 runs. To keep up with India’s hopes Suryakumar Yadav came on the crease to bat at No 3. Suryakumar tried to accelerate India’s innings by hitting a six just to get caught by Mohammad Rizwan behind the wicket of Hasan Ali’s delivery. India was reduced to 31/3 within the powerplay.

Then came Rishabh Pant on the crease & Rishabh Pant along with Captain Kohli steadied India’s submerging innings. When Rishabh Pant is on the field you can’t expect anything less than showers of sixes & fours. Rishabh Pant stepped up when India needed him the most & smashed two beautiful one-handed sixes in the 12th over to accelerate India’s innings. Only Pant can do it & it’s called “Pant things”. After 12th over India’s score read 81-3.  

However soon Virat-Rishabh’s blooming partnership was broken by Shadab Khan who caught Rishabh Pant in the 13th over when Rishabh tried to smash his third six & handed over a clean catch to Shadab. Perfect googly delivery by Shadab Khan sent Rishabh Pant back to the pavilion for 39 runs thereby reducing India to 87-4 after 13 overs.

T20 WC 2021, India vs Pakistan

Virat Kohli’s gutsy half-century guided India to an average total of 151 runs

Ravindra Jadeja came ahead of Hardik Pandya to bat at No 5. Virat Kohli in support of Ravindra Jadeja tried to pile up runs for India & guided India to 96-4 after 14th overs. There was no stopping for ‘King Kohli’ who displayed his heroics with the bat by smashing two fours in the 16th over thereby taking India’s scoreboard to 110-4.

Virat Kohli & Ravindra Jadeja were heading strong by scoring runs cautiously & took India to 114-4 after 17 overs. By playing a knock mixed of aggression & caution the Indian Captain brought up his 29th T20I half-century in the 18th over of their innings. With this crucial half-century, Kohli became the first batsman to score the most 50+ scores in T20 World Cup i.e 10. Chris Gayle & Mahela Jayawardene are others on the list.  

After watching Virat Kohli in attacking mode, it seemed like things were turning in India’s favor. But soon Hasan Ali struck to remove Ravindra Jadeja & reduced India to 127-5 after 18 overs. Then came Hardik Pandya on the other end to support Virat Kohli & when the duo tried to strategize their innings India suffered a major blow. Yes! India’s only winning hope ‘King Kohli’ was sent back to the pavilion. It was none other than young pacer Shaheen Afridi who caught the big fish by removing King Kohli for 57 runs. After Virat’s dismissal, Bhuvneshwar came to take the strike & lead India’s innings along with Hardik Pandya.

At the end of the 18th over, Shaheen Afridi delivered a no-ball to Hardik Pandya & India was gifted with a free hit. Hardik Pandya made the most of the free-hit delivery by getting five runs, thanks to misfielding by ‘men in green’ as they went for a run-out at the bowler’s end but Shaheen Afridi missed it & the ball ran away for a four. Indian fans were all smiles in the stands as ‘Men in Blue’ was 144-6 after 19 overs.

However, Pakistan struck again to remove Hardik Pandya in the death overs. Mohammed Shami & Bhuvneshwar Kumar also couldn’t make a difference with the bat as Pakistan wrapped up India’s innings for 151-7 after 20 overs.

The exclusive winning ‘Mauka’ grabbed by explosive ‘Men in Green’

In response, the ‘Men in Green’ started their innings on attacking mode right from the first over with Rizwan smashing consecutive six & four off Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s delivery to mount pressure on the Indian squad.

The duos of captain Babar Azam & Mohammad Rizwan looked in sublime form as they smashed Indian bowlers all around the park. Babar remained unbeaten on 68, while Rizwan scored a magnificent 79 not out to power Pakistan to a memorable win, with 13 balls to spare.

The win looked effortless for Pakistan as none of the Indian bowlers could dismiss blazing Babar & Rizwan who were playing with power & confidence. Mohammed Rizwan was in stupendous form in the death overs as he hit Mohammed Shami for 17 runs in the 18th over to script a remarkable win for his team. It happened for the first time in the history of T20 cricket that Pakistan defeated India with a stupendous margin of 10 wickets. This was the first time when India lost a T20I game by 10 wickets & this unexpected defeat marked India’s 50th defeat in T20Is.

After watching Pakistan’s intent & determination in front of India’s squad we can say that this time the ‘mauka’ of victory is owned by the ‘men in Green’.

T20 WC 2021, India vs Pakistan: Brief Scores

India 151/7 (Virat Kohli 57, Rishabh Pant 39, Shaheen Shah Afridi 3-31) vs Pakistan 152/0 (Mohammad Rizwan 79*, Babar Azam 68*, Jasprit Bumrah 0-22)

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News on ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here