T20 World Cup 2021: Hardik Pandya won’t bowl in the marquee event, confirms BCCI Official

Subscribe to our Channel ‘Buaksib’ to get buzzing cricket news on regular basis!

It’s confirmed! Hardik Pandya won’t bowl in the T20 World Cup 2021 for the Indian team. BCCI’s medical team have studied Hardik Pandya’s reports on Monday & informed the BCCI that Hardik Pandya is unfit to bowl in the T20 World Cup. After getting the confirmation from the medical team, the BCCI has prompted to make changes in the Indian team for the T20 World Cup 2021.

 “It’s clear, he (Hardik Pandya) can’t bowl. He will purely play as a batsman in the World Cup. By the later stages of the World Cup, he may recover & can bowl but for now, it won’t be possible. We feel sorry for Axar Patel but for the sake of team balance he had to make way for Shardul”, confirmed one of the top BCCI officials.

India’s Selection Committee & team management have decided to include Shardul Thakur to the 15 men Indian team for the World Cup & have moved Axar Patel to the Reserves Category. Axar Patel has lost his place in the team due to Hardik’s situation.

T20 World Cup 2021: Hardik Pandya won’t bowl in the marquee event, confirms BCCI Official

Earlier selectors have included three pacers in the 15-man Indian squad i.e. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami & Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Selectors were of the view that Hardik will contribute as 4th pacer. But due to Hardik’s inability to bowl, selectors decided to include Shardul Thakur in the squad.

It was Shardul’s excellence with the bat that helped him to earn a place in the main Indian team ahead of pacer Deepak Chahar who remains a standby along with Axar and Shreyas Iyer.

”After a discussion with the team management has added Shardul Thakur to the main squad. All-rounder Axar Patel, who was part of the 15-member squad will now be on the list of standby players,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.

Shardul Thakur has bagged 18 wickets for CSK in the IPL 2021 with an economy rate of 8.75 while Axar Patel has scalped 15 wickets in 12 matches for Delhi Capitals at an economy of 6.65.

India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, R.Ashwin, Rahul Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel

The BCCI has included eight cricketers who will join the team bubble in Dubai and assist Team India in their preparations. These players are Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, and K. Gowtham.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News on ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here