Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2021 Squad: BCB named 15 member squad for the Marquee Event

T20 World Cup 2021 Squad: Bangaldesh named 15 member squad for the Marquee Event

Bangladesh Cricket Board announced a 15 member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 on Thursday. There are no big surprises in the Bangladesh squad for the marquee event as expected names have shown up. However what comes as a major shock for the cricket fans is the exclusion of experienced fast bowler Rubel Hossain from the final squad as he got demoted to the reserves category.

Rubel wasn’t considered for the T20 World Cup 2021 squad despite being present in the Bangladesh’s Playing XI for their home series against New Zealand. Rubel who has played 28 T20Is so far has last featured in the Bangladesh team for the T20I series against New Zealand held in April this year.

Meanwhile Soumya Sarkar’s poor performance against Australia didn’t had any impact on his selection in the Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2021 squad as he retained his place in the national team in the absence of Tamim Iqbal. Tamim has withdrawn from the T20 World Cup earlier this month. Soumya managed to score just 28 runs in five innings against Australia and hasn’t featured against New Zealand in the first four games. However Bangladesh’s chief selector Minjahul Abedin is confident that Soumya Sarkar will very well fill in Tamim’s shoes.

“It is unfortunate that we are going without a player of Tamim Iqbal’s caliber,” Chief Selector said while announcing the squad. “We will miss him. Initially we were confident that Tamim would be playing in the World Cup but then he suddenly withdrew his name. Those who got the opportunity, definitely they have the ability to do well. We are confident about our openers Mohammad Naim, Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar”, added chief selector Minjahul.

Out of the 19 players team who played in the home series against New Zealand, the selectors have dropped four players from the Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2021 squad. Apart from Rubel, the trio of Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam and Aminul Islam have been left out. However, leg-spinner Aminul, who has played seven T20Is so far has been named as one of the reserve players alongside Rubel. Mohammad Mithun, who was excluded from the squad after the Australia series has also missed out from the mega-event’s squad.

Bangladesh are placed in Group B for Round  matches along with Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland and will qualify for the Super 12 stage if they secure a top two finish in their group. Bangladesh will kick start their T20 World Cup 2021 campaign with a fixture against Scotland on October 17.

Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2021 Squad:

Mahmudullah (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed.

Reserves: Aminul Islam, Rubel Hossain

Catch up with the Latest Cricket News on ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here