Turkey withdraws from ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier

Turkey withdraws from ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier

The International Cricket Council on Wednesday confirmed that Turkey has withdrawn from the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier as the necessary approval & travel documentation required due to COVID-19 restrictions for the team was not acquired from the Turkish sports ministry.

The event which will start on Thursday in la Manga, Spain will now be a five-team contest after the exclusion of Turkey. The International Cricket Council has released a revised schedule for the tournament.

The ICC Regional Development Manager of Europe, Andy Wright said, “It is with great regret that Turkey will not be taking part in the Europe Qualifier at the La Manga. We have been in communication with the federation over the past month to provide any assistance to secure their arrival into Spain in time for the event & would like to thank the federation for their efforts in trying to secure the documentation”.

 “We have worked closely with the remaining participating teams & the event will now be played as a five-team tournament. We are looking forward to seeing play getting underway tomorrow in what is still set to be a very competitive event”, he added.

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier will start from August 26 & will end on August 30 & all the matches of the tournament will be live-streamed on ICC.tv and FanCode. The top team of the tournament will progress to the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2022.

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier revised schedule is as follows:

26 August 2021 – Netherlands v Scotland (10:30); Ireland v Germany (10:30); France v Netherlands (15:30)

27 August 2021 – Germany v France (10:30); Ireland v Scotland (10:30); Netherlands v Germany (15:30)

28 August 2021 – Rest Day

29 August 2021 – France v Ireland (10:30); Scotland v Germany (10:30)

30 August 2021 – Netherlands v Ireland (10:30); Scotland v France (10:30)

Catch up with the Latest Cricket News, Live Cricket Score, Indian cricket team news & much more only at Crickerflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here