WBBL returns to “National-festival based” format, 59 fixtures to be played across six states


After staging the previous season of Women’s Big Bash League in a restricted bio-bubble in Sydney, the seventh edition of the WBBL is all set to make a return to the “national, festival-based” format. The fixtures are scheduled to commence in both metro & regional areas.

A total number of 59 matches will be played across six states. The season will start with Sydney sixers coming into a thunderous face-off with Melbourne stars at the North Sydney Oval on October 14. The winners of the sixth season, Sydney Thunder will launch their title defense against Adelaide sixers on 16th October 2021. The final of the WBBL will be played on November 27.

A three-match top four finals series remains on the schedule. The final series of the WBBL will be played on November 23 & 24 with the final taking place in primetime following day one of the men’s test between Australia & Afghanistan in Hobart.

“Like all sporting leagues, we remain conscious of the need to be flexible in response to the challenges of the pandemic. This schedule provides us with a number of options should we need to pivot, and the lessons of WBBL|06 and KFC BBL|10 stand us in good stead should we need to do so,” Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said in an official statement.

Also read, ENG vs PAK: Haris Sohail ruled out of the ODI series due to a hamstring Injury

As the seventh edition of the Women’s Big Bash League will not be played behind closed doors, the Melbourne stars will get a chance to play in front of their home crowd for the first time in almost 700 days. Speaking about the same, the Melbourne stars captain Meg Lanning said that she is excited to play in front of the home crowd & see the fans again in green.

“It’s exciting to see the matches finally unveiled for what will be another fantastic edition of the WBBL. I think one of the most exciting things for us as players is the potential to have crowds back & especially for fans in Melbourne. We really want to perform well & take the last step that we missed out on in last season’s final”, the Melbourne Stars Website quoted Meg Lanning as saying.

What’s historic about the seventh edition of WBBL is that 47 matches will be broadcasted nationally on television this year. This is a huge fivefold increase since the league’s inception seven years ago.

Catch up with the latest Cricket news, Cricket Live Scores, current team Rankings, latest ICC Rankings only at Cricketflicker, your one-stop solution for every news of the ‘cricket world’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here