Women’s Championship 2022-2025: Bangladesh, Ireland added as Ninth & Tenth Teams


Women’s Championship 2022-2025: Bangladesh, Ireland added as Ninth & Tenth Teams in the Tournament

Bangladesh & Ireland have been included as the ninth & tenth teams in the Women’s Championship 2022-2025 cycle. If both the teams managed to finish in the top six then they will get directly qualified for the Women’s ODI World Cup in 2025.

In the Women’s Championship 2022-2025 cycle, each team will play eight three-match ODI series- four home and four away – over the next three years.  At the end of it, the top five teams & the hosts will automatically qualify for the World Cup 2025. The other four teams will then take part in teh Qualifier against the 11th- and 12th-ranked teams in the ICC rankings and the top two from that event will complete the line-up for the World Cup.

“As we saw at the most recent ODI World Cup, there are a number of nations really starting to emerge so we’re going to have to be at the top of our game. We pride ourselves on finding ways to keep evolving and it’ll be more important than ever over the next period,” Meg Lanning, who recently led Australia to their seventh 50-over World Cup title, said in an ICC statement.

“To have Bangladesh and Ireland involved, will not only be great for us to have the chance to play more cricket against them but also to expose them to more cricket against the top nations.

“We want to see the women’s game as strong as possible and developing the next tier of nations is a big part of that.”

Pakistan’s three-match home ODI series against Sri Lanka, starting on June 1 will mark the beginning of the Women’s Championship 2022-2025 cycle. Ireland’s ODI series against South Africa will mark their second series of the Women’s Championship cycle. What is surprising in the Women’s Championship 2022-2025 cycle is that India & Pakistan have fixtures scheduled with other teams except each other.

ICC awards ODI status to five Associate Nations

The ICC has given ODI status to five associate nations- Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, and the USA with immediate effect.

“Increasing the number of teams in the ICC Women’s Championship and awarding ODI status to five additional teams will help us to accelerate the growth of the women’s game,” ICC CEO Geoff Allardice said.

“More teams playing more regularly creates a more competitive environment as we saw at the recent ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand,” Geoff added to his statement

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here