ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2021: Three Sri lanka Players tests positive for COVID-19


Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2021: Three Sri lanka Players tests positive for COVID-19


Three Sri Lankan players at the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2021 in Zimbabwe have tested positive for COVID-19 & are currently undergoing isolation.

According to ICC, the players have tested positive for COVID-19 following a screening of all team members. The screening took place after one player showed mild symptoms as per the bio-secure protocols in place to ensure the safety of all participants in the tournament which commenced in Harare on Sunday.

Two of the players are experiencing mild symptoms while the third one is asymptomatic. All three are currently isolating & receiving appropriate medical care. A major relief is that the rest of the Sri Lankan team have tested negative for COVID-19 but are isolating as a precautionary measure & will be re-tested ahead of their opening clash against the Netherlands on 23rd November.

“We have playing squads of 15 at the event, which allows for injuries & illness, including COVID-19 to be managed & in addition teams have had an option of bringing traveling reserves with them”, said ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley in a statement.

“As you would expect the remaining of the squad are being closely monitored & they will be all be re-tested ahead of taking to the field on Tuesday. The event biosecurity plan provides us with protocols to manage positive tests effectively with the intention of enabling the event to proceed while keeping all other players & participants safe”, he added.

Sri Lanka will play against the Netherlands in their opening clash on Tuesday with their remaining matches of Group A to be played on Saturday against West Indies & on Monday against Ireland. Pakistan, Bangaldesh, Thailand, Zimbabwe & the USA form Group B. three teams from each group will make it to the Super six stage in which the final fixtures will be played.

The qualifiers will shortlist three teams who will join five teams who have already qualified through the ICC Women’s Championship- Australia, England, India, South Africa & hosts New Zeaalnd for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 slated to be played in New Zealand from March 4 to April 3.

The three qualifiers as well as the other two teams will also ensure places in the next ICC Women’s Championship along with the top five teams from the last time as the number of teams in the third cycle of the IWC goes up from eight to 10 teams.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here