ZIM vs BAN: Regis Chakabva to lead Zimbabwe in Bangladesh ODI Series


ZIM vs BAN: Regis Chakabva to lead Zimbabwe in Bangladesh ODI Series

ZIM vs BAN: Ace wicketkeeper-batsman Regis Chakabva is set to lead Zimbabwe in the upcoming ODI series against Bangladesh. Regular captain Craig Ervine has been ruled out of the series after sustaining hamstring and knee injuries.

Zimbabwe registered a historic T-20I series win over Bangladesh by 2-1 on Monday. Resting all the speculations, Zimbabwe Cricket has finally announced the squad for the ODI series.

In a major blow to the home side, prominent ODI figures from the Zimbabwean side are set to miss the series. Veteran all-rounder Sean Williams has been granted leave by the Zimbabwe Cricket to attend personal matters. While Paceman Blessing Muzzarabani who missed the T-20I series is unfit and will also miss the ODI series.

Frontline pacer Tendai Chatara has been ruled out of the series due to an injury. Chatara will be replaced by Brad Evans who is yet to make his ODI debut but he has proved to be effective in the final T20I against Bangladesh where he scalped two wickets.

To strengthen the bowling attack, Zimbabwe cricket has included left-arm pacer Richard Ngarava and spinner Wellington Masakadza. Masakadza emerged as the third-highest wicket taker and picked up 35 wickets in seven matches at the recently concluded Logan Cup.

Also added to the squad are Victor Nyauchi and all-rounder Tarisai Musakanda. Frontline batsman Tony Munyonga has received his maiden call up whereas Tadiwanashe Marumani has been inducted in the side after a brief period of 1.5 years.

Chakabva will be leading Zimbabwe for the first time. Though Zimbabwe lost their last two ODI series against Sri Lanka and Australia, the team is having a brilliant stint in the T-20 format. Zimbabwe created history after registering their first ever T20I series win over Bangladesh. Chakabva will aim to create the same charisma in the ODI series against Bangladesh.

The first ODI of the series will take place on 5th August 2022 at the Harare Sports Club. The second and third ODI will take place on 7th and 10th August respectively at the same venue.

Here is Zimbabwe’s squad for the Bangladesh ODI series:

Regis Chakabva (capt), Ryan Burl, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Sikander Raza, Tony Munyonga, Tarisai Musakanda, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Milton Shumba

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here