BBL 2021-22: Peter Siddle, Mathew Short shine as Adelaide Strikers beat Hobart Hurricanes by 7 wickets


BBL 2021-22: Peter Siddle, Mathew Short shine as Adelaide Strikers beat Hobart Hurricanes by 7 wickets

After suffering six consecutive defeats, Adelaide Strikers finally registered their second win of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2021-22 season on Wednesday. Skipper Peter Siddle ripped the Hobart Hurricanes batting unit as he picked five wickets for just 23 runs in 3.5 overs.

His heroic spell helped Adelaide bundle out Hobart Hurricanes for just 126 runs in the first innings. Having said that, the other bowlers too were brilliant with the ball. Rashid Khan was outstanding with his variations in the middle overs. He picked two crucial wickets of Caleb Jewell and Macalister Wright and gave away just 26 runs in his four overs.

For the Hobart Hurricanes, D Arcy Short was the best batsman for the team as he scored 32 off 32 deliveries, including 3 fours. Tim David also looked good for his 18-ball 28 but neither of them could convert the start into a big score.

Adelaide Strikers ensured they bat well and chase down the score with ease. Mathew Short played a stellar unbeaten knock of 72 runs off 44 balls. The Hurricanes picked wickets at regular intervals but Mathew Short stayed firm and kept scoring boundaries at a good rate. His knock helped the team chase down the score in just 15.1 overs.

With that win, Adelaide Strikers have jumped to number six on the BBL 2021-22 points table with 2 wins in 9 matches. On the other hand, Hobart Hurricanes have now 4 wins in 9 matches. They find themselves at fourth on the table and would be looking to get back to winning ways.

Adelaide Strikers will play their next game against Melbourne Stars on Friday, while Hobart Hurricanes will take on Brisbane Heat in their next game on Saturday.

Brief Scores: Adelaide Strikers 3 for 129 (Short 72 not out, Lamichhane 2-22 ) beat Hobart Hurricanes 126 (Short 32, Siddle 5-23, Rashid 2-26) by seven wickets

Stay updated with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker! 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here