BBL 2021: Alex Hales re-signs with Sydney Thunder for the 11th edition of the League

BBL 2021: Alex Hales re-signs with Sydney Thunder for the 11th edition of the League

BBL 2021: Alex Hales re-signs with the Sydney Thunder franchise for the 11th edition of the tournament. With this signing, Alex Hales will link up with his former England coach Trevor Bayliss at the Sydney Thunder franchise. Trevor Bayliss was appointed as Sydney Thunder’s new coach for the next three seasons earlier in June this year.

Alex hales has not been selected in Engalnd’s National team since he failed two drug tests before the 2019 home World Cup which England won. Trevor Bayliss retired from his role of head coach following the Ashes that year. Alex Hales banishment has continued until earlier this year when even during the situation of a COVID-19 emergency in the national squad, the selectors didn’t pick Alex Hales in the second-string squad announced two days prior to England’s limited-overs series against Pakistan

Meanwhile, At Sydney Thunders, Alex Hales has been in splendid form amassing 576 & 543 runs in the last two seasons of the BBL, including a 110 run knock in the 2020-2021 campaign where Thunder was eliminated in the knockout final. More recently, Hales displayed a terrific performance in the T20 Blast season at Nottinghamshire by scoring 482 runs at 43.81 and a strike rate of 178.51.

“The culture at Sydney Thunder, both on and off the field, is something special and I am excited to have the opportunity to be a part of it again,” Hales said. “Over the last two seasons, I have seen first-hand how this franchise is putting together a squad who believes they can win the BBL and that’s the case this summer more than ever.”

With Alex Hales coming in, Sydney Thunder now has 14 players in their squad & one more overseas signing will be made ahead of the BBL 2021 which gets underway on December 5. However, Sydney Thunders are yet to name a new skipper for the squad after the departure of Callum Ferguson. Usman Khawaja seems a strong candidate for the post of Sydney Thunders Captain. Overseas players playing in the BBL 11 are required to undergo two-week hard quarantine when they arrive in Australia due to the COVID-19 border restrictions in place.

Sydney Thunder squad:

Jonathan Cook, Ben Cutting, Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales (England), Baxter Holt, Usman Khawaja, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Tremain

Catch up with the latest cricket news on BBL 2021, Latest Cricket Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflciker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here