BBL 2021: Sydney Thunder appoints Usman Khawaja as its ‘Captain’

BBL 2021: Sydney Thunder appoints Usman Khawaja as their ‘Captain’

BBL 2021: The Sydney Thunder has appointed Usman Khawaja as the franchise’s new captain. Khawaja will replace Callum Ferguson who was released by the club at the end of last season.

Usman Khawaja was overwhelmed after getting the opportunity to lead the Sydney Thunder’s franchise. Khawaja told to ESPNcricinfo, It’s a great privilege to be captain of any team, but for me, being captain of Sydney Thunder probably means a little more. I grew up in Western Sydney, about ten minutes from where the Thunder play at Sydney Showground Stadium. Even though I now live in Queensland, I have never forgotten where I come from.”

Khawaja has represented Sydney Thunder in all BBL fixtures. He is the club’s highest run-scorer with over 1700 runs under his belt. Khawaja has also smashed two centuries in BBL. Usman Khawaja who captains Queensland in Australia’s domestic circuit stated that he won’t make many changes at Sydney Thunder as captain. He also said that he will be his natural self & his usual jokester side won’t get affected by his new role of captaincy.

“Me being captain, it’s not about reinventing the wheel. Everyone has their own way of captaining a team but having captained various sides for Queensland and Australia A for a few years I think it’s important to be who you are”, Khawaja said.

“I never change who I am just because I am the captain. I am usually a bit of a jokester around the team and that doesn’t change as a captain. I know when to deliver a message that is serious and when we can be a little more relaxed”, he added.

BBL 2021: Sydney Thunder Squad

Usman Khawaja (C), Jonathan Cook, Ben Cutting, Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew  Gilkes, Chris Gren, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Tremain.

Catch up with the Latest Cricket News, ICC Rankings Updates, Indian Cricket team News, Latest Cricket Score, Latest Test Cricket News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here