The 6ixty: The New T10 League announces squads for the tournament, Check it Out


The 6ixty: The New T10 League announces squads for the tournament, Check it Out

Cricket West Indies has conceptualized a new T10 format of league named the ‘6ixty’ league. The league which is the brainchild of Cricket West Indies is all set to be played from August 24 to 28 in St Kitts & Nevis ahead of the CPL 2022. After fixing the dates of the league, Cricket West Indies have also announced the squads for the inaugural edition of the T10 league.

The Official Handle of the CPL have confirmed that all six men’s team & three women’s team will participate in the inaugural edition of the T20 league.

The 6ixty: Let’s have a look at the Players Composition

West Indies Legend Chris Gayle who is also the brand ambassador of the 6ixty League has joined St Kitts & Nevis Patriots for the inaugural season. Patriots have further bolstered its line-up with the signing of Evin Lewis & Andre Fletcher. South African youngster Dewald Brevis and star all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius will also join the Patriots as their overseas signing.

Meanwhile, Trinbago Knight Riders have strengthened their line-up with the signing of Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, and Andre Russell. The inclusion of T20I specialists in the Knight Riders line-up will provide them a cutting edge over other teams in the 6ixty tournament. They stand as clear favorites to win the inaugural edition of the 6ixty league.

On the other hand, Barbados Royals have made themselves more competent by adding star all-rounders Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers to their line-up. To bolster their bowling department Royals have bought the services of West Indies stand-out pacer Obed McCoy. While players like Harry Tector, Azam Khan, and Corbin Bosch come in as overseas signings for Barbados Royals. For the unversed Barbados Royals have a new captain on board with South Africa’s explosive batter David Miller taking up the reins of captaincy, replacing Holder.

The Jamaica Tallawahs too have up their game plan by bagging the services of Rovman Powell, Brandon King, and Fabian Allen in their squad. They have strengthened their spin department with the signing of Sandeep Lamicchane who is the captain of the Nepal team. Mohammad Amir and Australian all-rounder Chris Green are the other two overseas signings for the Jamaica Tallawahs.

Meanwhile, Guyana Amazon Warriors have roped in the services of big-hitter Shimron Hetmyer & star wicket-keeper batter Shai Hope. While Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd & Keemo Paul too joined the Warriors family. In the overseas draft, they have signed Colin Ingram, Paul Stirling, and South African wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen.

Saint Lucia Kings have managed to sign star pacers Alzarri Joseph and Roston Chase for the first edition of the 6IXTY tournament.

6IXTY Rules:

The new 6ixty tournament have come up with a different set of rules. let’s have a glimpse of them:

  • Each innings of the 6ixty tournament will have only six wickets with bowlers bowling back-to-back five overs from a single side instead of changing it after each over.
  • The teams have the chance to open a third power-play over if they smash two sixes in the first powerplay overs.
  • One fielder will be excluded from the final over if the bowling team fails to complete an innings in 45 minutes, leaving behind just ten fielders on the pitch.
  • The new ‘6ixty’ ball tournament has come up with a new ‘Mystery Free hit’ feature where fans can vote on the app, and the batter can not be dismissed on that delivery.

Here are the final squads

Jamaica Tallawahs: Rovman Powell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Fabian Allen, Imad Wasim, Brandon King, Kennar Lewis, Mohammad Amir, Shamarh Brooks, Migael Pretorius, Chris Green, Raymon Reifer, Jamie Merchant, Amir Jangoo, Shamar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk Mckenzie, Joshua James

St. Lucia Kings: Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, McKenney Clarke, Alzarri Joseph, Scott Kuggeleijn, Mark Deyal, Jeavor Royal, Matthew Forde, Leroy Lugg, Preston McSween, Larry Edwards, Ackeem Auguste, Rivaldo Clarke, Roshon Primus, Ravendra Persaud, Jesse Bootan

Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul, Tim Seifert, Seekkuge Prasanna, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster, Khary Pierre, Anderson Phillip, Terrence Hinds, Leonardo Julien, Shaaron Lewis

St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Qasim Akram, Sherfane Rutherford, Dwaine Pretorius, Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Dewald Brevis, Izharulhaq Naveed, Joshua da Silva, Jon-Riss Jaggesar, Keacy Carty, Kelvin Pittman, Jaden Carmichael

Barbados Royals: Jason Holder, Ober McCoy, Kyle Mayers, Azam Khan, Hayden Walsh Jr., Oshane Thomas, Rahkeem Cornwall, Harry Tector, Devon Thomas, Joshua Bishop, Justin Greaves, Corbin Bosch, Nyeem Young, Teddy Bishop, Ramon Simmonds

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Shimron Hetmyer, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Colin Ingram, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shai Hope, Paul Stirling, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Jermaine Blackwood, Gudakesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, John Campbell, Shermon Lewis, Ronsford Beaton, Matthew Nandu, Junior Sinclair

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here