Thursday, February 2, 2023
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News MCA honors 'The Gabba Conquerors' at Annual Awards

MCA honors ‘The Gabba Conquerors’ at Annual Awards

MCA honors 'The Gabba Conquerors' at Annual Awards

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) held its Annual Awards on Friday, January 6 at the Bandra-Kurla Complex club. In an extraordinary noteworthy stint, MCA honored veteran Indian cricketers Ajinkya Rahane, Shardul Thakur, and former Head Coach Ravi Shastri who were a part of India’s heroics against Australia at the Gabba Stadium in January 2021.

India had conquered the fortress of the iconic Gabba Stadium in Brisbane by overpowering the Australians who were undefeated at the venue for the past 32 years. With this, the Indian not only won the match but also seized the test series by 2-1 and retained the reign of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Notably, MCA also took to social media and posted an Instagram story of the three titlings the “The Gabba Conquerors.”

An overview of India’s mind-blowing performance in Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2021

India had bounced back in the four-match Test series after going 0-1 down. They pulled out a stellar victory at Melbourne, put up a resilient fight to draw the third game at Sydney, and finally pitched in a deciding contest at Gabba. Coming to the final Test, after displaying a thumping bowling performance, India was put out to bat and chase a fourth innings target of 328 runs on the final day of the game’s play.

A miraculous batting display from Rishabh Pant (89), Shubhman Gill (91), and Cheteshwar Pujara (56) helped India breach the total in the penultimate over of the match and script history. Debutants Shardul Thakur (67) and Sundar (62) had anchored a splendid rescue for India in the first innings when the team was down at 181/6. Thakur had also claimed solid 3/94 and 4/61 bowling figures in the match.

MCA also honored Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, Dhawal Kulkarni & Sarfaraz Khan

Apart from the Gabba Conquerors, ace Mumbai cricketers including Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, Dhawal Kulkarni, and Sarfaraz Khan dominated the award ceremony. Shreyas Iyer had an incredible year for the Indian as well as the Mumbai team and had set an epitome by conquering five awards at the ceremony.

Frontline batsman Prithvi Shaw emerged as the showstopper as he grabbed nine awards in his kitty. Paceman Dhawal Kulkarni bagged seven awards whereas in-form terrific batsman Sarfaraz Khan claimed five awards for his extraordinary performance at the Ranji Trophy.


Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!

MCA honors 'The Gabba Conquerors' at Annual Awards
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces Squad for India T20I series

IND vs NZ: New Zealand has announced 15 member squad for their upcoming T20I Series against India beginning later this month. And there comes...

SEC vs PC Prediction, Sunrisers Eastern Capitals vs Pretoria Capitals Probable Playing XIs

SEC vs PC: The much anticipated SA20 league has begun with zest & peps with big names of World Cricket participating in the tournament....

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars put an end to their Losing Streak

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars powered a thumping victory over Adelaide Strikers in their recently concluded pool stage fixture in Victoria. With this victory,...

BCCI to unveil Women’s IPL franchises on January 25

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) is set to announce the names of the five franchises that will battle it out for...