Aaron Finch names three players who can be seen as a Replacement to Warner in 3rd ODI!


Captain Finch on Monday admitted that any team can become weak in the absence of a star batsman like David Warner but also said that Australia have a number of other option who can cover the loss to a considerable amount.

Warner has been ruled out of the limited overs matches against India due to a groin injury & will miss the remaining limited overs matches. Finch named wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey, Marnus Labuschagne, and Matthew Wade as the possible options Australia can try for opening the innings along with the skipper.

We have not picked a team yet, but we have got a few options. Whether we go Wadey in the side or Marnus comes up and opens the batting, Alex Carey has done a lot of it in the past,” cricket.com.au quoted Finch as saying.

“But the middle-order has been functioning really well over the last little while. That is the beauty of being two-nil up in the series, you can look to experiment if you want to do that or you can look to play the safe option,” he added.

Finch further emphasized on the importance of Warner in the playing XI & said that he is a spectacular all-rounder when it comes to limited-overs cricket.

“He is an all-time great in one-day and T20 cricket. I do not think there are many better players to have played the game,” said Finch.

“So any team he is not a part of is going to be slightly weaker but we have got guys that can step and really contribute heavily in that role,” he added.

Recently cricket Australia has announced batsman D’Arcy Short, who last played a T20I in February 2019, has replaced injured Warner in the T20I squad. Short is the leading run-scorer in 2017-2018 & 2018-2019 & he has been brought into the squad in place of Warner. Spearhead Pat Cummins will be rested for the rest of the limited overs matches against India & will be featured in the opening long-from game at Adelaide Oval from December 17. Australia has defeated India in the two opening ODIs & gained a lead in the three match ODI series.