Anrich Nortje & Shabnim Ismail awarded the South Africa Men’s & Women’s Cricketer of the Year Award

Nortje & Shabnim Ismail awarded as South Africa's Men's & Women's cricketer of the year award

Anrich Nortje & Shabnim Ismail were awarded as South Africa men’s & women’s cricketer of the year at CSA’s virtual awards ceremony on Monday.

Shabnim also received momentum women’s T20I cricketer of the year award & South Africa’s Women’s Players of the year award. While Nortje was awarded as the test cricketer of the year & South Africa Fans’ Cricketer of the year award. He also shared in a tied vote with Aiden Markram, the South Africa Men’s Player of the Year award.

Previously winning the Women’s Premier award in the year 2015, Shabnim joins Marizanne Kapp & Dave Van Niekerk as multiple winners in the professional era. “Anrich Nortje & Shabnim Ismail have set high standards that we expect our iconic South Africa’s players. Anrich’s international career to date has been outstanding“, said CSA acting Chief Executive Pholetsi Moseki in an Official Statement.

“In a year he has gone ahead from being named our International newcomer of the year to our overall players of the year which is a remarkable achievement in itself. The COVID-19 has restricted Nortje to playing 10 test matches to date in which he has scalped 39 wickets for Proteas, including three five wickets haul”, Moseki added in her statement.

Nortje becomes the 12th player to win the Premier Men’s cricketer of the year award. And he has created his own history after being named as the international newcomer of the year & men’s cricketer of the year award in successive years.

“His strike rate of 48.50 is within the benchmark number that defines World’s leading bowlers. He has also delivered the fastest delivery ever of the Indian Premier League in which the cream of the World’s talent goes head to head”, said Moseki.

“Shabnim has palyed a huge role in enabling our momentum Proteas to break into the top groups of countries with a world top ranking of No.2 in the ODI format”, she added. Whereas Lizelle lee won the Streetwise Award for her blistering century in the ODI series against India. Lee was also named Momentum ODI Cricketer of the Year. Nortje also won the SA Fan’s Player of the year award which was decided on the basis of an online poll. The CSA Delivery of the year award went to Wiaan Mulder for dismissing Kusal Mendis with the help of a catch by Rassie Van der Dussen in the second test against Sri Lanka.

Van Der Dussen was honored with the ODI Cricketer of the Year award while Tabrez Shamsi was named as the T20 Cricketer of the Year. George Linde was awarded the Men’s International Newcomer of the Year. Whereas Ottniel Baartman was named as the inaugural winner of the Makhaya Ntini Power of Cricket Award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here