BAN vs NZ 2022: New Zealand Cricket announces a 13 member squad for two match test series


BAN vs NZ 2022: New Zealand Cricket Board has announced a 13 member squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh which will commence at Bay Oval on New Year’s Day evening.

What comes as a major development is that Tom Latham will lead the Black Caps squad for two-match test series against Bangladesh starting at the Bay Oval on New Year’s Day as New Zealand’s Captain Kane Williamson is ruled out of the series due to an elbow injury.

Earlier also Tom Latham has taken up the duties of captaincy in the absence of Williamson during their second test against India when Williamson was ruled out of the final test due to his gruesome elbow injury. But this would be the first time that Tom Latham will lead the team for an entire series.

“It’s great to be back home and at venues, we know well, and where we’ve had success in recent times,” said head coach Gary Stead. “It’s obviously disappointing not to have Kane available for this series but, as we noted in India, he is undergoing a sustained period of rest followed by rehabilitation, strengthening, and gradual batting loading.

“We have every confidence in Tom leading the side – he’s done an excellent job in the past when called upon”, added Gary.

After creating a lasting impression on his test debut in England, Devon Conway made a comeback to the New Zealand’s squad after spending a few days on benches due to a hand injury that he had sustained in the T20 World Cup semi-final against England in November.

In the bowling department, pacers Trent Boult & Matt Henry will feature in the squad for the home series after being rested for the two-match test series against India. However, what comes as a major surprise for the fans is the exclusion of the specialist spinner Ajaz Patel from the 13 member squad who attained a remarkable milestone of becoming the third leg spinner to scalp 10 wickets in an innings. Meanwhile, all-rounders Rachin Ravindra and Daryl Mitchell were successful in securing their spots in the 13 man squad announced on Wednesday.

“You do feel for Ajaz after his record-breaking display in India,” Stead said. “However, we’ve always applied a horses-for-courses selection policy and believe the players selected best fit the way we want to take on Bangladesh here at home.

“We feel having both Rachin and Daryl in the squad gives us a nice balance and the ability to pick a side best suited to the conditions we expect.”

The Test series kicks off on January 1 at the Bay Oval, while the second match will be played at the Hagley Oval from January 9.

BAN vs NZ 2022, New Zealand Squad:

Tom Latham (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Will Young

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here