Chris Gayle & Fidel are included in the West Indies Squad for T20I series against Sri-Lanka!

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle was named in the West Indies T20I squad on Friday for the first time in two years as the 41 years old look forward to secure a place in the World Cup later this year.

Chris Gayle who is one of the Cricket’s Global Superstars was included in the 14 man squad for the three match T20I series against Sri-Lanka which starts in Antigua on Wednesday. The Star batsman Gayle wants to steer West Indies to a successful defense of their World Cup T20 Title which will be held in India in October & November. The star opening batsman played the last of his 58th T20Is against England on home ground in March 2019.

He has scored 1,627 runs in the T20I format with a highest score of 117 at an average of 32 balls. “As we build towards the defense of the T20 World Cup, the opportunity is being taken to determine our best team and squad as we go forward,” said chief selector Roger Harper.

“Chris Gayle has performed very well in recent tournaments and the selection panel thinks that he can still add great value to our team.”

Chris Gayle has been playing in the PSL but will break off from the league to resume his International career in the T20I series against Sri-Lanka which will be played on March 3, 5 and 7. Also Fidel Edwards who is West Indies star fast bowler has been added in the West Indies T20I squad against Sri-Lanka. Fidel who hasn’t played for the West Indies since 2012 will make a comeback with West Indies T20I series against England.

“Fidel Edwards has been selected to give the bowling the potent firepower needed,” Harper added. The three game floodlight series will be the first T20I to be played at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua. Three ODIs will also be played in Antigua at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on March 10, 12 and 14. All-rounder Andre Russell is recovering from COVID-19 earlier this month & despite of testing negative over a week ago has been ruled out of the T20I series.

A West Indies spokesman added that fast bowlers Sheldon Cottrell & Oshane Thomas, along with batsman Shimron Hetmyer & all-rounder Roston Chase all have failed to reach the minimum fitness standard in order to be considered for selection.

T20 squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Fabien Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Rovman Powell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair.

ODI squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Jason Mohammed, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here