CPL 2021: South Africa’s Anrich Nortje signed by St Kitts & Nevis Patriots for the upcoming CPL season


CPL 2021: South Africa’s Anrich Nortje signed by St.Kitts & Nevis Patriots in Caribbean Premier League for the upcoming CPL season. CPL’s Official Twitter handle confirmed the news on Friday with a tweet.

In July 2020, Nortje was signed by the St Lucia Zouks squad for the CPL 2020. However, Nortje was one of the five South African Cricketers to miss the tournament after failing to confirm their travel arrangement in due time.

South Africa’s lead pacer Nortje was named in Cape Town Blitz’s squad for the first edition of the Mzansi Super League T20 tournament. However, he was ruled out of the tournament with an ankle injury. Another South African who has been signed by ST.Kitts & nevis Patriots franchise is Van der Dussen. The team will be led by Dwayne Bravo. Though it is one of the best franchise of CPL 2021 the side has never won a CPL season however they reached the finals of the CPL in 2017.

Earlier West Indies pacer Sheldon Cottrell & Evin Lewis were retained by St.Kitts & Nevis Patriots franchise for the CPL 2021. The Patriots have brought two players from other franchises. They have signed Dwayne Bravo from Trinibago Knight Riders in a trade deal by trading away Denesh Ramdin. They have also brought in Sherfane Rutherford from Guyana Amazon Warriors. With these two additions in the squad, the Patriots have also retained their opening batsman Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Jon Russ Jaggesar, & Rayad Emirt. Young players such as Joshua da Silva & Dominic Drakes were also retained by the Patriots.

The CPL 2021 will start on August 28 & will continue till September 19, the organizers confirmed on Thursday. This year the CPL will commence in St Kitts & Nevis with all 33 matches to be played at Warner Park.

For all the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates subscribe to Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here