Cricket West Indies announces 15-man squad for ODI series against Australia

West Indies vs Australia

West Indies vs Australia: The Cricket West Indies announced 15- man squad for the ODI series against Australia commencing from July 20. The selection panel has included several players from the ODI squad that has registered a 3-0 series sweep over Sri Lanka in the CG Insurance ODI series played earlier this year.

The recently named ODI squad also features experienced players such as Pacer Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer & all-rounder Roston Chase. The ODI series against Australia will be played at Kensington Oval in Barbados on July 20, 22 & 24 with all three fixtures scheduled as day & night encounters.

“This squad is coming off a comprehensive series win against Sri Lanka which could boost their confidence going into what is expected to be a tougher contest against Australia. The inclusion of Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase & Sheldon Cottrell adds greater depth & experience to the squad”, Roger Harper Cricket West Indies Lead Selector said in a formal statement.

Also read, ICC announces Nominees for Men’s & Women’s Player of the Month Award for June

“Playing in familiar home conditions, hopefully, will bring out the best in each player thereby enabling the team to perform at a consistently high standard. This CG Insurance ODI series against Australia is part of the ICC Cricket World Cup qualification process where every match & every point counts to it is very important”, Harper added.

West Indies vs Australia Squad:

 Kieron Pollard (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Anderson Philip, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd

Catch up with the latest Cricket news, Cricket Live Scores, current team Rankings, latest ICC Rankings only at Cricketflicker, your one-stop solution for every news of the ‘cricket world’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here