Delhi Capitals Replaces Jason Roy with Daniel Sams for the IPL 2020!


England’s Opening batsman Jason Roy has opted out of the 13th edition of the IPL. The player was set to represent Delhi Capitals this year but as a result of him withdrawing from the IPL 2020 the franchise has named Australia’s pacer Daniel Sams as his replacement reported media.

The pacer had made headlines for Sydney Thunder at the 2019-20 Big Bash League where he finished as the tournament’s highest wicket-taker. He is also a part of Australia’s squad for the upcoming T20I & ODI series against England. Earlier today Jason Roy had been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series between England & Pakistan which is scheduled to begin from August 28.

With Roy pulling out of the IPL, he has become the second English player after Chris Woakes to do so. Woakes was also scheduled to represent Delhi Capitals but the franchise later named Proteas pacer Anrich Nortje as his replacement.

Roy had been picked by Delhi Capitals for Rs 1.5 crore at the player’s auction. The IPL 2020 will be played from September 19 to November 10 in the UAE across three venues –Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah. All the eight IPL franchises have reached UAE for participating in the tournament.

This time the finals of the IPL will be conducted on a weekday i.e. Tuesday for the first time in the history of T20 tournament & both afternoon and evening matches will be played half-an-hour earlier than usual.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here