England Women announces ODI Squad for Series against India

England Women's squad for ODI series

England Women have announced a 16 player squad for the upcoming ODI series against India. Sophia Dunkley is all set to make her ODI debut when the series gets started at Bristol on Sunday.

Freya Davies & Sarah Glenn who was released during the test series to play in their regional teams make a comeback in the squad. The only player of England’s test squad who is not included in the ODI squad is Georgia Elwiss who has not played any One-day match for England since 2019.

“We are looking forward to playing ODI cricket again after a hugely enjoyable & hard-fought test match against India”, head Coach Lisa Knightley stated in an Official Release by ECB. “The competition for places across all formats is growing every time we meet to select a squad. The options available to us are the strongest we have had since I have been in the role & we feel this group gives us a great opportunity for success in the ODI element of the series”, added ECB.

“There is no space on this occasion for Dhanni Wyatt & Georgia Elwiss, & while I know they are both disappointed to miss out, it’s important that they are given the opportunity to play cricket at a regional level ahead of the vitality T20 series. We have to balance the needs of the squad & the need of an individual & we will always be keen to get people playing competitive cricket where we can”.

Three ODIs will be played in the series, each ODI worth of two points in the series. The ODI match at Bristol is followed by matches at Taunton to be played on June 30 & Worcester on July 3.

England Women Squad for the ODI Series against India:

Heather Knight, Emily Arlott, Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers.

Grab the latest updates, Live News, trending news only at Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here