Fakhar Zaman’s run-out in the second ODI between Pakistan & South Africa in Johannesburg created a huge controversy! The game was in a crucial stage with Zaman batting on 193 runs in the 50th over with Pakistan in need of 31 runs to win. Zaman hit the ball towards the off side & decided to run for a second run. South Africa’s wicketkeeper Quinton De Kock was waiting to collect the ball at the striker’s end. His gestures indicated the throw at the non-striker’s end. However, Zaman was blindsided with his back towards the fielder & the stumps at the striker’s end were disturbed with a direct hit as Zaman fell short of his ground.
Watch the thriller moment here:
Zaman’s stunning knock of 193 runs was in vain as Pakistan could not chase the target of 342 runs. Pakistan finished at 324 runs for 9 wickets. Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal created a massive controversy on social media. Twitteratis opposed Quinton’s ‘fake fielding’ gesture & termed it as ‘Cheating’.
Even ICC 41.5 Clause deals with “deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of the batsman.” It states that “it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”
Quinton De Kock deliberately used ‘fake fielding’ to dismiss Fakhar Zaman. De Kock through his gesture seemed to ask the fielder in the deep to throw the ball at the non-striker’s end. However, the throw came to the end where Zaman was running and the Pakistan batsman was short of his ground by some distance. However, the on-field umpires didn’t object to Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal & he had to walk back to the pavilion.