ICC WTC Final: ICC discloses the Prize Money for the Winners of the Mega Event

ICC WTC Final Winners

The ICC Council on Monday announced the prize money & award for the winners of the WTC final which is to be played between India & New Zealand. The winners of the much-awaited WTC final will take home a whopping amount of USD 1.6 million along with the ICC Test Championship mace.

The losing team will get the amount of USD 800,000 for securing second place in the mega nine-team contest which has been played over a two-year cycle. The prize money for the team finishing third in the ICC World Test Championship standings is USD 4,50,000. The team that has finished fourth on the standings will be awarded USD 3,50,000 & the team which has finished fifth on the table will get USD 200,000 while the remaining four teams will get USD 1,00,000 each.

The test mace which was previously awarded to the teams topping the ICC Men’s test team Rankings will now be awarded to the WTC winners. If the WTC final ends in a draw or a tie, then the finalists will split the prize money for the first & second places & will share the possession of the Mace during the time they remain the Champions.

The ICC has also provided the cricket fans with intricate details of the ICC Mace. The ICC revealed that “the Mace is designed by the English Luxury brand Thomas Lyte. It is based around the global nature of Test cricket & the nations involved in the Championship. The focal point of the Mace is the cricket ball while encircling the ball is the globe which refers to the global reach of test cricket. And one can also see the silver-gilt cricket ball through the oceans of the map”, the ICC stated in a press release.

Get all the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates subscribe to Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here