IND vs SL: Sri Lanka announces a 25-man Squad for the limited-overs series against India

IND vs SL: 25 players Squad

IND vs SL: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced a 25-man squad for the upcoming white-ball series against India. Dasun Shanaka will captain the Sri Lanka team in the ODIs & T20I series against India.

“The following 25 member squad was selected by the Cricket Selection Committee to take part in the ODI & t20I series against India. The squad was approved by the Minister of Youth & Sports Honorable Namal Rajapaksa”, the SLC announced in its statement on Friday.

Earlier on Friday, the SLC confirmed that Kusul Perera will not participate in the ODI & T20I series against India due to a shoulder injury. Perera suffered a right shoulder sprain while training ahead of the limited-overs series against India. Perera was Sri Lanka’s first choice after Niroshan Dickwella has been suspended for breaching the bio-bubble protocol in the UK. Kusul Perera was the captain of the Sri Lankan team touring England but due to central contract disputes between players & cricket boards, Dasun Shanaka has been appointed as captain replacing Perera.

On 10th July, the BCCI & Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the revised schedule & timings of India’s limited-overs series against Sri Lanka. “The tour comprises 3 ODIs & 3 T20Is will now start from July 18, 2021”, read an official statement from the BCCI. The ODI series will kick start on July 18, 3 pm onwards & the T20Is will commence from July 25, 8 pm onwards. The three ODIs will be played on July 18,20 & 23 & the three T20Is will be played on July 25, 27 & 29, respectively.

The white-ball Indian team initially was scheduled to lock horns with the Sri Lanka squad in the ODI series starting on July 13. However, due to COVID-19 cases in the Sri Lanka Camp, the tour has been rescheduled to start from July 18 onwards. The decision of rescheduling the tour was taken last week when Sri Lanka’s Batting coach Grant Flower & Analyst Niroshan had tested positive for the Delta variant of COVID-19.

The duo was infected with the virus after returning from their England tour. As a result, the duo was immediately isolated & the entire Sri-Lanka squad was quarantined for seven days. However, on 11th July the entire Sri Lanka squad came out of quarantine after testing negative in the latest RT-PCR tests. They have started with their outdoor training sessions as per the guidelines of Sri Lanka cricket.

Sri Lanka last played against England in three ODIs & T20Is & returned back on 6th July. The Sri Lankan team failed to win even a single match on their England tour & suffered a 3-0 defeat in the T20I series & a 2-0 loss in the ODI series. Shikhar Dhawan-led Indian team is looking forward to clinching the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka & ends their Sri Lanka tour on winning terms.

IND vs SL: Sri lanka squad

Dasun Shanaka (C), Dhananjaya De Silva (VC), Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Sushmantha Chameera, lakshan Sandkan, Akila Dhananjaya, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayawickrema, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha & lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana.

IND vs SL latest cricket news, live scores, live updates only at Cricketflicker, your one-stop solution for all the trending news of the cricket world!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here