India is all set to face England in the much awaited T20I Series!


After an enthralling victory in the Test Cricket, hosts India shift their entire focus on T20I Cricket as they gear up for another exciting series against England which is the number One Ranked T20I team in the World.

While the hosts won the Test Series, defeating England in the T20Is won’t be easy for the Virat Kohli led team. With their eyes on the T20 World Cup in India later this year both the teams have selected a strong team for the upcoming five match T20 series which will start on march 12 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. While England have David Malam who is ranked as the number one T20I batsman, India also have an explosive player in KL Rahul who is currently enjoying second spot in the T20I batsmen Rankings.

Captain Virat Kohli & Opener batsman Rohit Sharma are almost certain to start every game, there is a tough fight for the places at least in the top order of the Indian team. KL Rahul who opened the batting for India in the last T20I series is getting tough fight from Shikhar Dhawan for the opening slot. The selectors have also included some fresh faces in the Indian squad such as Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan & Rahul Tewatia who earned their maiden T20I call-up after displaying impressive performance in the last year’s IPL.

Leg Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal is expected to lead India’s spin bowling attack. Newbie Spinner Varun Chakravarthy who missed out the Australia tour due to an injury will also join the squad. Axar Patl, one of the star performers for India in the just ended Test Series, has also been named in the team as a replacement for injured Ravindra Jadeja. Washington Sundar, Hardik Pandya & Rahul Tewatia are the three all-rounders playing in the team.

In the fast bowling department, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is making a comeback after a long break due to an injury, while T Natarajan has kept his place in the team after a successful debut in Australia tour where he had become the first ever Indian Player to make debuts in all three formats on the same tour. Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini & Shardul Thakur are the remaining fast bowlers included in the Indian squad for the T20I series.

Eoin Morgan will take the leadership duties from test captain Joe Root who is not a part of their T20I team. While England faced a lot of criticism for their rotation policy throughout the Test series they have now selected a formidable squad for the upcoming T20I series. Moeen Ali who went back to England after playing just one test is back with the T20I squad. England will be riding on players like Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan and Adil Rashid, who didn’t featured in the Test series to make a difference in the T20I series.

Apart from Ben Stokes & Jonny Bairstow none of the other players from the fourth test are named in the T20I squad. However with a change in leadership & format of game, England will be hoping to have a turnaround in their destiny & win the series to avenge their defeat in the Test Series. The hosts on the other hand will be hoping to carry on the same momentum & continue their winning stint.

Match schedule: 

1st T20I: March 12 

2nd T20I: March 14 

3rd T20I: March 16 

4th T20I: March 18 

5th T20I: March 20 

Venue: All matches to be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad — the biggest cricket stadium in the world. 

All matches start at 7:00 pm IST 

India’s T20I squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Shardul Thakur. 

England T20I Squad: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wk), Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here