India will pounce back after facing defeat by England in the Series Opener match!


India who have being outclassed by England in the T20I series Opener match in Ahmedabad will look to pounce back in the five match T20I series as they will face England in the second T20I at the same venue on Sunday.

India went to play the first T20I with six bowling options but their batsmen were blown away by the outstanding bowling efforts by the England pacers on Friday. Jofra Archer scalped three wickets while mark Wood, Ben Stokes & Chris Jordan scalped one wicket each as the hosts were restricted to a below average total of 124 runs for seven wickets down in allotted 20 overs.

Apart from Shreyas Iyer, every other Indian batsmen struggled for scoring but a major concern for the hosts in the second T20I will be the form of Captain Virat Kohli. Kohli was dismissed for a five ball buck by Adil Rashid & it was his second consecutive score of zero in International Cricket, after being sent back without scoring a single run by Ben Stokes in the 4th test earlier this month. India rested Rohit Sharma in the first T20I game but both the openers, KL Rahul & Shikhar Dhawan failed to score for India as India registered one of their worst power play scores with 3 wickets down for 22 runs.

Iyer fought a lone battle as he scored his third T20I half century. Rishabh Pant & Hardik Pandya hit few boundaries but they also ended up with a strike rate of below 100. India have six bowling options but still they looked less potent as compared to their England opponents on the Ahmedabad Surface.

Axar Patel who scalped wickets one after another in the test series was troubled badly by England batsmen. He conceded 24 runs in just three overs without taking any wickets. Chahal removed Jos Buttler but he too conceded 44 runs. For England, Jason Roy and Buttler put on a solid 72-run opening stand that laid the platform for a comfortable win.

Jonny Bairstow who could not perform during the test series opted for an attacking strategy & found his form back as he remained unbeaten on 26 off 17 balls. With Jasprit Bumrah out & T Natarajan battling a shoulder niggle India might look forward to change their bowling lineup for more attacking bowling strategy by including Kuldeep Yadav in the lineup.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy, T Natarajan.

England squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here