Kusal Perera will lead Sri Lanka’s 18 members squad for the ODI Series against Bangladesh!

Kusal Perera

Sri-Lanka on Wednesday announced an 18 members squad for the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh. The team will leave for Bangladesh on May 16 and the Minister of Youth and Sports, Namal Rajapaksa gave his approval for the squad. Sri-Lanka will be led by Kusal Perera while Kusal Mendis will be his deputy captain for the three-match ODI series.

The three-match ODI series which is a part of the ODI Super League will be held on May 23, 25, and 28 in a bio-bubble stretching between the team hotel & Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Sri-Lanka will reach Dhaka on May 16 & then the team will complete their three days quarantine period. Sri-Lanka will then play a practice match on May 21. After the conclusion of the ODI series on May 28, the Sri-Lankan squad will depart on the following day. This will be Bangladesh’s third ODI series within the ICC’s World Cup Qualifying Campaign. Sri-Lanka is currently lying in sixth place after defeating West Indies with 3-0 at home in January.

Sri-Lanka & Bangladesh came into a face-off in a two-match test series which was won by Sri-Lanka. The Lankan team had defeated Bangladesh by huge 209 runs in the second test match while the first was ended in a draw.

Recently Sri-Lanka cricket has proposed an itinerary to the BCCI which sees both Sri-Lanka & India coming into a face-off in three-match ODIs followed by three-match T20Is. The three ODIs are scheduled to be played on July 13, 16 & 19 which will be followed by three T20I series starting from July 22-27. As per the schedule, India’s limited-overs team will be arriving in Sri Lanka on July 5 & will head back to India on July 28. 

Let’s have a look at Sri-Lanka’s 18 members squad who will face Bangladesh in a three-match ODI series:

Kusal Perera (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando.

For latest cricket news & updates subscribe to Cricketflicker, your one stop solution for buzzing cricket news!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here