Lanka Premier League 2021 Rescheduled, to Commence from November 19


The Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2021 which was expected to begin on July 30 has been rescheduled to be held from November 19 to December 12, 2021.

The Governing Council has taken this decision with the view of getting more players to participate from the leading cricket-playing nations in the lucrative league. The Council made this decision after assessing that one similar Premier League & several International Tours will be played among the leading cricketing nations during August 2021. As a result, many players will get restricted from participating in the LPL 2 due to their national & International commitments.

The Innovative Production Group, the LPL Events Rights Holder, supports the decision of the SLC. “IPG supports SLC’s decision to postpone the second edition of the LPL. The success of the league is of paramount importance. We thank the SLC, Sri Lankan government, players, franchisees, & sponsors for their support”, said Anil Mohan, Founder & CEO of Innovative Production Group FZE, the Official Promoters of the Lanka Premier League.

The Player Registration Process for LPL 2021 was started on June 21, & closed on June 28. Many players from Australia, Bangladesh, South Africa, Pakistan, India, Nepal & the USA have registered themselves for the second edition of the Lankan Premier League.

The first edition of the LPL which is Sri-Lanka’s topmost domestic T20 league was started last year & was held at the MRICS, Hambantota with the participation of five teams. The inaugural edition of the LPL was commenced on November 26, 2020, under a secure bio-bubble environment & was a successful event. The Jaffna Stallions won the LPL 2020 by defeating Galle Gladiators in the final held on December 16, 2020.

Catch up with the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates only at Cricketflicker, your one-stop solution for all the trending news of the cricket world!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here