Lankan Premier League is all set to kickstart from December 5

Lankan Premier League is all set to kickstart from December 5
Lanka Premier League 2021

The Lanka Premier League 2021 is all set to commence on December 5 at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo. Jaffna Stallions will come into a face-off with the Galle Gladiators in the season opener match of the LPL 2021.

Overview of the LPL 2021:

A total of 24 matches will be played in the Lanka Premier League 2021 including the finals. Colombo will host the first 20 matches of the Lanka Premier League 2021 & then the tournament will shift to the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota. The final of the LPL 2021 is scheduled to be played on December 23 & December 24 is kept as a reserve day for the final.

The SLC said in a statement, “The finals of the League will be played on December 23, 2021, at the MRICS, Hambantota, whilst this year’s tournament has 24th December, as a ‘Reserve Day’ dedicated for the finals.”

LPL 2021 is going to be a big affair as some of the biggest cricketers will participate in the LPL 2021 including a couple of former Indian cricketers. In this edition of LPL, around 74 International Cricketers have registered for the Player draft. Players like Imran Tahir, Mohammad Amir, Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Dawid Malan, and Faf du Plessis have expressed their interest to participate in the LPL 2021. In total, 225 player applications have been approved for the player draft. Each of the five teams will be allowed a squad of 20 players, including six overseas players.

LPL 2021 will follow the Playoffs System

The LPL 2021 will see the top two teams of the league stages locking horns in Qualifier 1. On the other hand, the teams finishing third and fourth will lock horns in the Eliminator match. The winner of the Qualifier 1 will move ahead to the final while the losing team will play against the winner of the Eliminator clash to become the second finalist of the T20 World Cup 2021.

Here is the full schedule for the LPL 2021:

Date3.00 pm (Day Match)7.30 pm (Night Match)VENUE
December 3, 2021Practice
December 4, 2021Practice
December 5, 2021OPENING CEREMONYGalleJaffnaRPICS
December 6, 2021DambullaKandyColomboGalleRPICS
December 7, 2021JaffnaDambullaKandyGalleRPICS
December 8, 2021ColomboDambullaKandyJaffnaRPICS
December 9, 2021Rest & Practice
December 10, 2021DambullaGalleJaffnaColomboRPICS
December 11, 2021GalleKandyColomboDambullaRPICS
December 12, 2021JaffnaKandyGalleColomboRPICS
December 13, 2021  GalleDambullaRPICS
December 14, 2021KandyColomboDambullaJaffnaRPICS
December 15, 2021Rest & Practice
December 16, 2021ColomboJaffnaKandyDambullaRPICS
December 17, 2021JaffnaGalleColomboKandyRPICS
December 18, 2021Travel to Hambantota
December 19, 2021Rest & Practice
December 20, 2021Eliminator (3 vs 4)Qualifier 1 (1 vs 2)MRICS
December 21, 2021  Qualifier 2 (looser QF1 vs won E )MRICS
December 22, 2021Rest & Practice
December 23, 2021  Final MRICS
December 24, 2021  Final (Reserve Day)MRICS
  • RPICS =   R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo
  • MRICS = Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News on ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here