Rahul-Rohit Blitzkrieg powers India to a Series Clinching Win



Rahul-Rohit Blitzkrieg helped India to pocket the T20I series

IND vs NZ, 2nd T20I: India marched towards their fifth consecutive win in a bilateral T20I series at home by sealing a seven-win over New Zealand in the secodn T20I match. Chasing a meager 154 runs target in Ranchi, India fluttered in the middle but thanks to blistering half-centuries from Rohit Sharma & KL Rahul, India crossed the winning line with 17 balls to spare.

Two strong teams fought for Dominant victory at the grounds of Ranchi


Despite the dew factor & batting conditions favoring the batsmen, India could manage to amass just 46 runs in the powerplay overs. New Zealand’s bowlers ensured that they keep the proceedings in control by conceding just 11 runs in the two overs bowled in the powerplay overs.

Meanwhile, kiwi’s openers had attacked right from the first over by smashing Bhuvneshwar Kumar for most runs(14)  in the first over of the second T20I. Bhuvneshwar tried to swing & spin the ball simultaneously in order to trouble Guptill but failed miserably. To get their first breakthrough Rohit introduced Axar Patel & R Ashwin in the powerplay but Martin Guptill & Daryl Mitchell went strong by scoring 42 runs in the first four overs.

Martin Guptill also became the highest run-scorer in T20I by scoring 31 runs off 15 balls before getting dismissed in the fifth over. Despite that, New Zealand finished with their highest powerplay score against India in India.

Story of India’s subtle approach in the chase of 154 runs

India was a step behind in the chase as compared to how New Zealand went about attacking the Indian bowlers in the first 10 overs. Mitchell Santner was crucial in keeping Rohit & Rahul in control as they conceded just six runs in his first two overs by bowling good length deliveries & a tad fuller at times.

New Zealand did what India did, bringing things in control after the powerplay overs. The Blackcaps introduced Ish Sodhi & Santner into the bowling attack as a result India was unable to score a boundary for four overs since the beginning of the fifth over.

How did India turn things in their favor?

The ball was changed in the ninth overdue to the seam coming apart. This was the turning point for the Indian openers as they made the most of it. Rohit launched a counterattack against Santner in the 10th over by smashing the first & fourth ball of the over for six. Rohit Sharma’s catch was dropped by Boult on 29 runs & he made the most of this lifeline by bringing up his scintillating fifty & accelerating more runs even after teh departure of KL Rahul. KL Rahul was sent back to the pavilion by Tim Southee for 65 runs putting a full stop to their blooming 117 run stand. Rohit fell to Southee for a 36-ball 55, but till then the damage was done as India was placed in a comfortable position in their chase of 154 runs.

Tim Southee as usual was outstanding for New Zealand by returning with a figure of 3-16 in his four overs spell. But the lack of support from the other bowlers hurt the black caps the most as Boult went for 9 & Adam Milne for 13. However, despite Sodhi only having conceded 13 runs in two overs, it was surprising why he wasn’t bowled further or why New Zealand didn’t use a sixth bowler to take off the pace.

India’s lethal bowling get the better of the Kiwis after the powerplay overs

R Ashwin was introduced in the powerplay overs to restrict the Blackcaps but the off-spinner played a major role in restricting the flow of runs after the powerplay overs when the fielding restrictions were lifted. If 64 runs came in the first six overs just 20 runs came in the next four overs as New Zealand were losing their way in their innings. The bowlers acted smart by playing with their lengths & pulling the New Zealand’s batters back into the chase.

R Ashwin was superb once again despite the dew factor as he was varying his pace maintaining a balance between bowling good lengths & pulling things back adeptly with tight lines. He finished with figures of 1-19. Between Ashwin and Axar, India’s spinners only conceded 45 runs in their 8 overs. Harshal Patel too, on debut, bowled tight lines and made it tough for New Zealand to score runs. He was extraordinary with his bowling attack right in his debut match. After that explosive powerplay, New Zealand could only score 89 runs in the remaining 14 overs, with just 28 coming in the last five overs.

 IND vs NZ 2nd T20I, Brief scores:

New Zealand153/6 in 20 overs (Martin Guptill 31, Daryl Mitchell 31, Glenn Phillips 34; Harshal Patel 2-25) lost to India155/3 in 17.2 overs (Rohit Sharma 55, KL Rahul 65; Tim Southee 3-16) by seven wickets.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here