Rishabh Pant & Ashwin are nominated for New ICC Player of the Month Awards for January!


India’s off-spinner R Ashwin & astounding wicketkeeper batsman Rishabh Pant were nominated for the newly introduced player of the month awards by the ICC.

Besides Ashwin & Pant, two other Indians Mohammed Siraj & T Natarajan are also in the lineup for the ICC Player of the Month Awards. All of them played a crucial role in the India’s historic Test series win against Australia. ICC said that the awards will recognize the best performances of both male & female cricketers across all forms of International cricket throughout the year. Other players who are named for the awards for January are England captain Joe Root, star Australia batsman Steve Smith, Rahmanullah Gurbaz of Afghanistan, Marizanne Kapp and Nadine de Klerk of South Africa and Nida Dar of Pakistan.

Fans are invited to vote online every month to award their favorite male & female cricketers across all formats of International cricket played in that particular month, the ICC further said in a release. An independent ICC Voting Academy which comprises of former players, broadcasters and journalists from around the world will team up with fans to vote for the winners.

Geoff Allardice, ICC General Manager – Cricket said: “The ICC Player of the Month is a great way to connect with fans of the sport and celebrate performances of their favorite players through the year.

“It gives us all an opportunity to acknowledge world class performances on the field by male and female cricketers and they have been in abundance throughout January.”

The three nominees for each of the categories will be determined by the ICC Awards Nominations Committee based on on-field performances & overall achievements during the period of that particular month. The voting academy will submit its votes by email & will retain a 90% share of the vote. On the first day of each month fans registered with the ICC will be able to vote via the ICC website & will have a 10% share of the vote. Winners will be announced every second Monday of the month on the ICC’s digital channels.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here