Sanju Samson & Steve Smith took Rajasthan Royals to a crucial Win over CSK!


RR defeated CSK by 16 runs in their first IPL 2020 match of the season at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. CSK Captain MS Dhoni won the toss & elected to field. Whereas Sanju Samson & Steve Smith’s 121 run partnership led Rajasthan Royals to a solid 217 runs target which proved impossible for CSK to achieve.

Rajasthan Royals lost an early wicket of Yashasvi Jaiswal but stupendous partnership of Smith & Samson helped the Royals to produce a decent target. Deepak Chahal grabbed the crucial wicket of Samson who scored 74 runs off 32 balls which included one four & nine sixes.

After Samson’s dismissal Smith found it hard to build a strong partnership & got dismissed soon after Samson went off field. David Miller & Robin Uthappa were successful in handling the batting order of Rajasthan Royals & then came Star player of the match Jofra Archer on field. Jofra Archer added finishing touch to Rajasthan Royal’s huge total with a confident batting display. He scored 27 runs in just eight deliveries by hitting four sixes in just one over.

Tom Curran also caught up in an umpiring controversy. Curran was ruled out by the umpire after he caught behind by a Chahar delivery. Curran wanted a review but his team allotted reviews were over. But TV Replays showed that he shouldn’t have been dismissed so the umpires called him back as he didn’t left the field.

Meanwhile CSK also got off to a decent start with Murali Vijay & Watson scoring 21 & 33 runs. Once again FAF Du Plessis produce a good performance scoring 72 runs off 37 balls. Dhoni came in the end on 7th spot & tried to do the finisher’s role but couldn’t prevent CSK’s defeat due to the superlative target posted by Smith’s team. The former Indian Captain scored 29 runs in just 17 deliveries.

In the bowling department, Sam Curran was the trump card for CSK who grabbed three wickets in four overs. Meanwhile Rahul Tewatia was on top for RR grabbing three wickets in allotted overs. In CSK’s next match they will face Delhi Capitals on September 25 whereas Rajasthan Royals will take on Kings XI Punjab on September 27.