The BCCI Secretary Jay Shah is appointed as the President of Asian Cricket Council!


The BCCI secretary Jay Shah was on appointed as the President of the Asian Cricket Council. The BCCI treasurer Arun Singh Dhumal shared the news on twitter & wrote, “Congratulations @JayShah on taking over as President of Asian Cricket Council. I’m sure ACC will achieve greater heights under ur leadership and the cricketers of the entire Asian region will benefit. My best wishes for a successful tenure.”

Nazmul Hussain who is the chief of Bangladesh Cricket Board’s (BCB) Chief Nazmul Hussain was the previous chief of the ACC & now Jay Shah has taken over the role. The ACC is Asia’s regional administrative council & it consists of 24 member associations.

Sourav Ganguly is currently in hospital after undergoing a successful angioplasty, Jay has been working overtime to decide the fate of the domestic calendar in the Indian Cricket. On Friday night he informed the state associations that after organizing the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament, the BCCI is now set to host the Vinoo Mankad Trophy — U19 limited-overs tournament — along with Vijay Hazare and senior women’s one-dayers.

The BCCI Secretary Jay wrote in his letter to the State Associations assessed by the media, informed that the decision was taken by keeping in view the pandemic situation & the feedback of the state bodies. “The pandemic has tested each and every one of us and there is no life that has remained untouched by it, and while it has been difficult, your support has meant that we have been able to resume both domestic and international cricket in the men’s category.

“As you are aware, we have lost a lot of time and consequently, it has been difficult to plan the cricket calendar on account of the precautions that are necessary for the safe conduct of the games.

“However, it was extremely important for us to ensure that women’s cricket takes place and I am extremely happy to inform you that we are going to conduct the Senior Women’s One-day tournament simultaneously with the Vijay Hazare Trophy and follow it up with Vinoo Mankad Trophy under 19. This has been decided after having received your feedback on the domestic season 2020-21,” he wrote.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here