The ECB announced 14-Member Squad for the Ireland ODI Series!

The ECB announced 14-Member Squad for the Ireland ODI Series!

On Monday, the ECB announced their 14 member squad for their upcoming three match ODI series against Ireland.

Tom Banton & Reece Topley were included in the England’s 14 member squad for the three-match ODI series against Ireland. The team would be headed by Eoin Morgan while Moeen Ali will be the Vice-Captain. All the three ODIs will be played in a bio-secure environment at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton without spectators.

England’s Selectors have also kept three reserves for the series whose names have been disclosed below. “We are developing excellent strength in depth in white-ball cricket. Even though a number of Test players are unavailable, there is great competition for places, as we have seen during the intra-squad matches and the England Lions warm-up match,” England selector James Taylor said in an official statement.

“There are a number of players who’ll feel unlucky as they can’t made to the final squad and that says a lot about how many players we currently have pushing hard for selection at the highest level,” he added.

The series will witness the launch of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. The Super League is introduced to bring more relevance to the ODI cricket, & the League will also act as the Qualification factor for the ICC men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 with the top seven teams being automatically fixing their spot at the event which will be hosted by India.

The players who are selected for the 14 member squad are Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Joe Denly, Saqib Mahmood, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.

Reserves: Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here