Upendra Yadav’s brilliant Century guides Uttar Pradesh into Semi-Finals of Vijay Hazare Trophy!


Team Uttar Pradesh (UP) displayed a perfect professional performance to outclass Delhi by 46 runs in the Quarter-Finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in New Delhi on Tuesday.

UP will now face Gujarat in the first semi-final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy while Mumbai will face Karnataka in the other last four matches. Upendra Yadav’s 112 runs off 101 deliveries & Captain Karan Sharma’s 83 runs off 100 deliveries glides Uttar Pradesh to post a competitive total of 280/7. The UP bowlers then did well to restrict Delhi to 234 runs in 48.1 overs with none of the middle order batsmen able to score well after the top batting order collapsed, losing half of the team within 20 overs.

Shivam Mavi 1/31 in 8.2 overs was brilliant until he had to be taken off the attack for bowling a couple of beamers. It was the spinners Shivam Sharma 33/1 in 10 overs & off-spinner Sameer Choudhary 0/25 in 6 overs who put brakes in the middle overs when Lalit Yadav who scored 61 off 78 deliveries & Anuj Rawat who scored 47 off 64 balls couldn’t break the shackles.

Put to bat at the Kotla, UP suffered a top-order collapse & were struggling at 25 for 3 wickets down. Both the openers Abhishek Goswami (6) and Madhav Kaushik (16) fell cheaply. At 66 runs for 4 wickets down Karan & Wicket-keeper Upendra Yadav rallied with Yadav playing second fiddle before launching a counter attack. The two scored 129 runs for the fifth wicket down to pull UP out of trouble. While Sharma smashed 11 fours in his 100 deliveries knock, Yadav struck 11 fours & two sixes in his innings as the two batsmen took over Delhi bowlers.

Uttar Pradesh were 150/4 after 32 overs & were heading towards scoring a decent total. But Off-spinner Lalit dismissed Sharma in 39th over. Then Upendra Yadav took the responsibility on himself & found a good partner in Sameer Choudhary who scored unbeaten 43 off 35 balls which enabled them to past the 275 runs mark.

Brief Scores: Uttar Pradesh 280/7 (Upendra Yadav 112, Karan Sharma 83; Pradeep Sangwan 2/49, Simarjeet Singh 2/51) beat Delhi 234 in 48.1 overs (Lalit Yadav 61, Anuj Rawat 47, Akshdeep Nath 2/29, Shivam Mavi 1/32).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here